We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B & B with lovely views”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southport,U.K.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B with lovely views”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed here to attend a conference for six nights. On arrival was made to feel very welcome. lovely room with antique furniture - every room is different. Appreciated the good quality dressing gowns which are provided (this is something you would not get in many B & B's) The house itself has been lovingly restored by Steve the owner. The breakfast was lovely, seated in the bay window overlooking the tennis courts and Kelvingrove Art gallery. The fresh fruit salad and bacon and eggs were delicious as was the earl grey tea. He even made breakfast early for us so that we could get to the conference on time.
It felt like being in a friend's house and Steve could not do enough for us, from booking taxis and restaurants, even to the point of asking the restaurant to give us a good table, not to mention him taking the time to have conversations with us.
Glasgow is one of the friendliest cities I have visited and look forward to returning to the Alamo.
I wish Steve and Emma every success with their beautiful guest house.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    105
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
107
326
63
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is a charming family place near a gorgeous park, well located. The decor is traditional but updated, Steve seems to work very hard and was always nice. They are generous with giving information, have a DVD library and make the dining room available at all times.The cat and the children really gave it a home-like appeal. I did at times, though, feel like we were bothersome by asking simple questions or not being able to do everything right on time.
Our room was well decorated but the bed was rather uncomfortable. It was the triple and it clearly was two beds put together to make a king, which is not ideal for a couple. The breakfast had great fruit and yogurt but other than that was pretty standard.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
586 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This was a very nice place to stay in Glasgow, convenient access to Kelvingrove park and not too far from city center either. It's a nice property with pleasant rooms, although our "queen" bed was actually just two twin mattresses of marginal quality wedged together. Makes for a flexible room but not quite the romantic getaway you might like.

Steve and Emma are very nice and put on a nice morning spread. Steve seems a bit frazzled and definitely has a set routine he likes to adhere too with respect to breakfasts and such. That said he's very nice and helpful. I do think he would benefit from adding on another helper or two since a 10 bedroom B&B is a lot for one couple and I think just one assistant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Steve, the owner goes out of his way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Tasty, filling, diverse breakfasts, nice view of a park, easy walking distance to central city, comfortable, clean, super soundproof rooms. Wifi and Laptop so you can peak at emails. Flash the cat a friendly greeter. Affordable, I'd highly recommend. A no brainer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBrooklyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speyside, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at The Alamo during our trip to Glasgow to visit our daughter and were lucky enough to grab the last room available. The hosts were extremely friendly, hospitable and helpful. Steve welcomed us into their beautifully renovated front hallway to give us a tour of the house which has a lovely family atmosphere. The furnishings and decor are lovely, comfortable and tasteful.
We are looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonandhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed here with my daughter for 3 nights in May whilst visiting the Mitchell Library and surrounding areas of Glasgow to do some research on our ancestors.Also stayed in Nov 2010 for 3 nights with same excellent service.The owner,Steve has a very relaxed manner but keeps the establishment in immaculate condition with personal attention at Breakfast.The Alamo is an Ideal spot to stay if visiting Glasgow with reasonable visitors local parking and close access to Bus routes.Rooms are very stylishly furnished and Bathrooms elegantly refurbished.Very big selection at breakfast of fruits,cereals,yogurts as well as hot freshly prepared Bacon and Eggs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davelynmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry city Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I have stayed at the Alamo twice recently, on my own for a few days and last weekend with my husband. It is a beautiful house in a lovely quiet location. What makes the Alamo special is the care and attention given by the owners. It feels like a home from home. Steve went out of his way to provide us with a delicious breakfast early on Saturday morning as we were catching an early ferry. That personal touch makes all the difference.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Property: Alamo Guest House
Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamo Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing