We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to remember”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Dear Steve and Emma,

Thanks so much for making our stay in Glasgow so wonderful! John and I so enjoyed your lovely guesthouse and you made us feel like family. Our room was beautiful as well as comfortable, we were especially happy to find your king sized bed to accommodate John's height! The wi-fi was a plus in keeping up with our work while away from home. Breakfast every day was excellent and I found the made-to-order poached eggs the best I've had anywhere! We both also enjoyed the porridge which warmed us up in your chilly weather! Another real plus was the quiet environment of the guesthouse, we were never disturbed by neighborhood or guest noise and slept quite well every night. Your large DVD collection was another treat and we enjoyed several movies on the big screen TV in our room. Your resident cat, Flash, was a joy to us as we were missing our pets back home. Flash has the best manners of any cat I have met! He was friendly but knew his place, he stayed out of the guest rooms and the dining room but enjoyed being petted in the front hall.

Finally, the best part of our stay was your friendly personalities. You both took time to help us with directions, public transport, cabs, restaurants and reservations and ideas for sightseeing. Our trip to Stirling Castle that you recommended was a highlight of our trip and will be long remembered.

Please post this to your web site with reviews so other people will see how awesome Alamo Guesthouse Glasgow is!!

Thanks again,
Affectionately,
Melissa and John

Room Tip: It is easy to choose a room at the Alamo Guesthouse. Their website has pictures and detailed descri...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Alamo Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Firstly our bed was extremely comfortable, a good quality mattress and good linens. Our room was large and clean and very quiet, even though it was at the front overlooking the park. The bathroom was very clean with an excellent shower. The linens and towels were of good quality. Breakfast was good, with lots of options and excellent porridge. The location is fantastic, five minute walk to the Kelvingrove and 15 minutes to the City Centre. There are loads of restaurants within easy walking distance, the famous Mother India is just five minutes walk. You can park right outside the hotel safely, for a small charge. It is so quiet at night you could easily be in the country. Highly recommended. If we are lucky enough to visit Glasgow again we will definitely be back at The Alamo.

Room Tip: We loved room 1 but I expect they are all good.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the Alamo Guest House for two nights. The Victorian-era Alamo clearly reflects the personality of its owner Steve, who spent five months (much of the time on his back ala Michaelango) decorating the ceiling of the breakfast room. There is great attention to the specific details of the decor, most especially in the deluxe first-floor room with the free-standing bathtub, which we were offered but declined. The decor ranges between very tasteful and a bit over-the-top. The rain showers were high-tech; they should come with instructions! But they did provide a unique cleansing environment. So the stay was an interesting, and positive, experience.

The location is great - near the Kelvingrove Park and Museum and an easy walk to many good restaurants on Argyll Street. On-street parking (pay) is no problem.

One alert - there is a 2% surcharge for those who pay with credit card. The room rate seemed a bit high compared to other places to stay nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms are just above the street level and on the ground floor looking into a garden. So there are fe...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jml3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was overall very good. The hostess was very friendly and answered all our questions very well. She also provided us with maps and information on the city.
The room was spacious and comfortable. It was not en-suite, which was made known to us before purchasing. However there was a sink and mirror in the room which we appreciated. The only downfall was that our DVD player did not work.
The breakfast was very tasty and satisfying. They had plenty of food and in variety as well. Overall, one of the better places we have stayed in Scotland!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footballbabe2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a wonderful room looking toward the Kelvingrove Gallery and Museum. It was wonderfully decorated and fitted with many wondrous pieces of technology, more than we needed for sure. Only drawback was that there was no shower cubicle, just an open bath that you sit in and shower. Wonderful linen and good toiletries added to the appeal. I like baked beans at breakfast and was disappointed they weren't available in any of the warmers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed at the Alamo recently for my first visit to Glasgow for a stag golf weekend and was very impressed. A perfect location in the West end of Glasgow with very comfortable rooms and beautiful decor. The staff were very friendly and breakfasts spectacular. The perfect location for anyone visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjDitoSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My sister and I recently stayed here for one night at both ends of our visit to the Hebrides . It is a perfect place to stay if you want good location to food , parks and museum ( and auto rental )
Steve and Emma were pleasant and very helpful. The building is in a very quiet location and is an old gem that they have restored . The rooms are all beautiful to look at and our room, #4- was large enough for the two of us with a queen bed and a twin bed. The room was clean , the beds and linens comfortable. Our room was en suite with great hot water and shower. There are plenty of other bathrooms in the hallway to accommodate those rooms that are not. We found the breakfast more than enough with a variety of fruit, cereals, yogurt,juice, and also eggs, bacon, sausage if one is a heavier eater.
There is a variety of restaurants in the area and also a handful of small shops to pick up snacks .
This is definitely a gem of a place and I look forward to staying here again if I am ever in Glasgow.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
776 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
816 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £68 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing