We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a pleasure”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was a last minute booking through late rooms. com so we really did not expect to much. However we were confronted with a hotel/guest house full of character and style and run by a really pleasant welcoming couple who could not do enough for you. The rooms were really comfortable and stylish and appeared to have been updated recently to a high standard. The breakfast was one of the best I have had (I must apologise for asking for a full English when in Scotland) and served in a really tastfully decorated room. It turned out that the current owner has restored and painted all the very decorative ceilings himself and it is worth the trip just to admire his handy work. All in all this was a really pleasant but brief stay and we will be back when next visiting Glasgow. One tip, contact the hotel direct to book as it will be cheaper that going through various websites.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lespowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    105
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
107
325
63
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport,U.K.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is my third stay at the Alamo. Warm welcome from owners, Emma and Steve.
Beautiful house, which has been lovingly restored by Steve. All the bedrooms are different and the dining room is beautiful. Near to good restaurants, looking out onto the tennis courts, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Glasgow University.
Good advice from Emma and Steve on the best places to eat.
Will always stay here when visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have just stayed there for 3 nights, my party had hired the whole guest house. We had caterers in for New Years Eve and this was ok'd by the owner Steve who lives next door. It is very clean and has been renovated to the style is originally was, but bathrooms, shower rooms and toilets are all quite modern. Steve could not have been more helpful. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I booked this guest house for a weekend away in glasgow with my boyfriend for his birthday, and it was so lovely. It's a good location, within walking distance to the city centre, and right next to Kelvingrove park. All of the staff we encountered, especially Steve were so helpful and friendly, even trying to find us cheaper entry to the science museum. We borrowed a DVD from the massive collection, and the breakfast was delicious, with what seemed like very good quality ingredients. It was reasonably priced too. Would definitelt, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferCarronHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent one night in this gem whilst in Glasgow seeing a gig. We were welcomed on arrival and immediately offered an upgrade to our room which was pleasantly decorated, warm and comfortable. The hosts were very helpful and were able to advise us on good restaurants nearby. We would definitely recommend this and will return. You don't get service like this in a hotel belonging to a large corporate chain-and I bet none of those have a 20 year old cat called Flash as part of the staff!
.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My family, now husband and I all stayed at the Alamo on our wedding weekend in November. It was really important to us to find a small, family –run guesthouse with a personal touch, where we could all be together and feel at home on this special weekend. The Alamo was all this and more! On the advice of Steve we booked all three rooms on the ground floor for my parents, my sister’s family (including my 3 year old niece and 6 month old nephew) and for ourselves. We had room 1, which is adjacent to the dining room. After 9 p.m. this room becomes available only to the guests in room 1, as they could otherwise be disturbed by any noise. This was perfect for us, as it meant our family could use this space in the evenings with the kids asleep just down the hall. We spent the evening of our wedding in the dining room with our family, a couple of friends and some bottles of Prosecco – feeling very much at home! Steve and Emma went out of their way to make us feel welcome the entire stay. They and their staff were always exceptionally friendly and helpful - there were even flowers and a bottle of bubbly waiting for us when we checked in. The rooms themselves were all very comfortable (particularly the beds) and beautifully decorated. The rooms are very reasonably priced, with a good range between the pricing of the smaller rooms and the largest room, which was another important factor for us in deciding on the Alamo. There was a good selection of food available at breakfast, both healthy and more traditional. Steve and Emma have a huge selection of DVDs that they make available to the guests, including many for children, for which my sister was at times very grateful! In the end, the Alamo was exactly what we was looking for and yet exceeded our expectations. My husband and I will most certainly return, just the two of us, for a romantic weekend on one of our future anniversaries.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a pleasant surprise to find a B&B that's run like a hotel but with friendly, helpful & engaging staff.
The room was clean, warm and I personally like how the whole house is restored & kept original but with mod cons like modern bathrooms/showers, blueray players & smart TV's.
Even after 3 nights the novelty of the place didn't wear down & we were only too happy to return after a whole days & evenings out.

I can't recommend it enough & look forward to our next stay with Steve, Emma and the ever calm Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westfellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Property: Alamo Guest House
Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamo Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing