We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

"We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Glasgow, and the Alamo was the perfect guest house for our getaway. The boutique feel sets it apart from the run of the mill alternatives in the area. Steve and his family were great hosts, will definitely be going back and recommending to others."

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMHowell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    108
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
330
64
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

"The Alamo is a perfect alternative to modern, chain hotels - very comfortable, in a pleasant area overlooking the park and with a lovely, warm welcome from the hosts, Steve and Emma. Excellent value, highly recommended"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay. Beautiful rooms, great location. The owner, Steve, couldn't have been more helpful...giving us breakfast even though we weren't up early enough!

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Miles away from your usual b+b, lovely rooms tastefully decorated , beautiful furnishings , comfortable big bed. Modern bathrooms with great powerful plumbing. Breakfast plentiful with bacon and eggs if wished but also a wide range of other produce . No hesitation to highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalle2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked into a luxury ensuite room (room 12). Upon arrival we were welcomed by the owner Steve, who warmly checked us in, showed us around the guesthouse and then how to use the various lighting options and shower unit in the room itself. We were very pleased with the room - the photos online did it justice. We had bathrobes and plenty of towels. It was spacious and beautifully decorated along with the modern twist of a freestanding bath and a high tech shower.
Steve and Emma (the owners) were very helpful - giving directions to the city centre, and recommending nearby bars and restaurants. They also did a great job of phoning a number of restaurants to make a booking on our behalf, which was very much appreciated!
As I mentioned to my partner, this is one of the few experiences where I have felt truly comfortable in a room for a weekend away. I would happily come back next time we visit Glasgow. Just as an aside note - book directly through the hotel and not through 3rd party sites as it is more expensive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jtargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It's now become a tradition for us; go to the pantomime at the SECC and stay at the Alamo.
The reason for the pantomime is John Barrowman, the reason for the Alamo is Steve & Emma and their kindness and hospitality, the wonderful rooms, the attention to detail, the breakfasts and the beautiful location.

I originally booked this B&B because I thought I'd be staying alone and I needed the confidence that TripAdvisor gives to a solo female traveller. It exceeded expectations then and has done ever since.

I always arrive ridiculously early because I come up on a sleeper coach or train, but I've always been welcomed kindly. This year there was the added complication that I didn't have a working mobile phone, and one of the people due to meet us was stranded by bad weather. Steve and Emma behaved as if this was a genuine disappointment rather than an annoyance (which I'm sure it was, what with me receiving phone calls on their phone and changing plans).

We were in Room Three which was of course spotless, beautifully decorated and had an exceptional bathroom. All of which I have come to expect from the Alamo, but I feel I should repeat for anyone who hasn't been there yet.
I've stayed in three different rooms over four years and the showers have always been wonderful, the towels properly copious and the FULL-SIZED free toiletries of a very high standard.

Breakfast was again up to the usual standard. That standard being high.
I had three courses; croissant, bacon and egg and then fruit with muesli and yoghurt.
Oh and tea and toast too!
Well I was making up for the last two years when I just had juice...

I can't fault it. I'd like to live there all year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundaeGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was a last minute booking through late rooms. com so we really did not expect to much. However we were confronted with a hotel/guest house full of character and style and run by a really pleasant welcoming couple who could not do enough for you. The rooms were really comfortable and stylish and appeared to have been updated recently to a high standard. The breakfast was one of the best I have had (I must apologise for asking for a full English when in Scotland) and served in a really tastfully decorated room. It turned out that the current owner has restored and painted all the very decorative ceilings himself and it is worth the trip just to admire his handy work. All in all this was a really pleasant but brief stay and we will be back when next visiting Glasgow. One tip, contact the hotel direct to book as it will be cheaper that going through various websites.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lespowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
668 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,273 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Property: Alamo Guest House
Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing