We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star plus *****”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Would highly recommend the Alamo guest house, great location, amazing decor, fantastic hospitality, thanks for making us so welcome, room 12 a real relaxing treat, definitely top of my list for future stays in Glasgow, best wishes to the team x"

Room Tip: Room 12, just sheer luxury, amazing bespoke decor, very spacious and great facilities. Also enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahp3452678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

had a wonderfull stay at the Alamo Guest House. Nice setting, clean and nice rooms, very good breakfast and friendly service. Stephen and his family took good care of us and were very flexible towards our speciffiic needs. Also very nice location overlooking the park. Very recommendable, I'll definitely go back when I return to Glasgow!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy_Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

"We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Glasgow, and the Alamo was the perfect guest house for our getaway. The boutique feel sets it apart from the run of the mill alternatives in the area. Steve and his family were great hosts, will definitely be going back and recommending to others."

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMHowell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

"The Alamo is a perfect alternative to modern, chain hotels - very comfortable, in a pleasant area overlooking the park and with a lovely, warm welcome from the hosts, Steve and Emma. Excellent value, highly recommended"

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay. Beautiful rooms, great location. The owner, Steve, couldn't have been more helpful...giving us breakfast even though we weren't up early enough!

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Miles away from your usual b+b, lovely rooms tastefully decorated , beautiful furnishings , comfortable big bed. Modern bathrooms with great powerful plumbing. Breakfast plentiful with bacon and eggs if wished but also a wide range of other produce . No hesitation to highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalle2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked into a luxury ensuite room (room 12). Upon arrival we were welcomed by the owner Steve, who warmly checked us in, showed us around the guesthouse and then how to use the various lighting options and shower unit in the room itself. We were very pleased with the room - the photos online did it justice. We had bathrobes and plenty of towels. It was spacious and beautifully decorated along with the modern twist of a freestanding bath and a high tech shower.
Steve and Emma (the owners) were very helpful - giving directions to the city centre, and recommending nearby bars and restaurants. They also did a great job of phoning a number of restaurants to make a booking on our behalf, which was very much appreciated!
As I mentioned to my partner, this is one of the few experiences where I have felt truly comfortable in a room for a weekend away. I would happily come back next time we visit Glasgow. Just as an aside note - book directly through the hotel and not through 3rd party sites as it is more expensive.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jtargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
823 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £71 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing