We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home from home”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been staying at the Alamo regularly since Autumn 2013. I now stay here once a week for work reasons and I have to say that every time I walk in the door I immediately feel at home. Steve and Emma and their family are wonderful and look after me like I am one of their own! Nothing is too much trouble and they are wonderful hosts.
I am a very fussy person to the point that I usually don't enjoy staying in hotels or b&b's unless they are of the highest standard. I have never been disappointed by the Alamo and I have stayed in most of the rooms and have seen all of them. They cater for everyone: if you are looking for a single room at low cost - no problem choose their single/twin rooms downstairs with shared facilities. If you are looking for something special for a romantic break then one of the upstairs rooms with a park view (1 or 12 are the best) and showstopping bath then nothing could be better.
Everything is always immaculately clean and I have never once in all my stays had to wait for a bathroom. I always sleep so well and I can't recommend the Alamo highly enough. I already recommend it to any of my family or friends who come to Glasgow and they have all loved it as well. It's a keeper!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glossop_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Alamo is one of the best places we have stayed at in the UK. How a city centre guest house can provide this service at such a good price is beyond me. Absolutely terrific. We chose it at random as it was close to a Lunch Party Venue and we are glad we did. We will be staying again when we visit Glasgow in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valiant9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Cant speak highly enough of the Alamo guest house, great looking Victorian style rooms with modern twists. Room 12 was very luxurious, spacious and well decorated we loved the stylish en suite and HD 3D tv. We only met the owners Steve and Emma briefly but were very kind and friendly. Unfortunately I can't comment on breakfast because we were so comfortable in our lovely bed that we decided to sleep in a little. Overall superb guest house and great experience, definately be visiting the Alamo again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevem1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had an excellent stay at The Alamo - very friendly staff, comfortable room in a beautiful house next to Kelvin Park. Thoroughly recommended if you're going for a city break in Glasgow. Close enough to walk to the major attractions .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Perfect Night!'
Lovely atmosphere. We felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Friendly and helpful staff. Staying as a couple overnight for Valentines, we had spent most of our time in town but had an excellent nights sleep in a cosy room! The room we chose had style and elegance as well as a very good standard of cleanliness! We were so impressed that we knew we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Having slept in, we thought we missed breakfast, however the staff were so kind and invited us in as they kept the food for us! Great night and morning for us! Many thanks to the staff for a memorable valentines weekend!"

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMills90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Alamo Hotel recently and were treated with exceptional kindness and respect. The rooms are beautifully furnished and we felt like we were Royalty for the duration of our short 2 night stay. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and as much as you can manage and as they claim themselves 'nothing is too much trouble'.
The location of the hotel could not be better with plenty of eating establishments and museums close to hand. Parking could not have been more convenient just outside the Hotel for a nominal daily charge.I hope one day I get the opportunity to stay at the Alamo again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Would highly recommend the Alamo guest house, great location, amazing decor, fantastic hospitality, thanks for making us so welcome, room 12 a real relaxing treat, definitely top of my list for future stays in Glasgow, best wishes to the team x"

Room Tip: Room 12, just sheer luxury, amazing bespoke decor, very spacious and great facilities. Also enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahp3452678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £71 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing