We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was one of our favorite B&Bs on our trip, and the one we splurged on for our honeymoon. The couple was very very friendly upon arrival and had no problems with our later check in, which was extremely refreshing after our mishaps at the Glasgow airport. Our room was fantastic and it was so nice to come back to after a long day exploring Edinburgh. The breakfast was buffet style, but the staff was right there to provide anything you needed. Overall a great B&B that we would stay at again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaitlynM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

A very good place to stay in Glasgow. We loved it We had a great room lots of nice touches, a very good breakfast great choice, the location is also very good. Our hosts were wonderful we definitely will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moira l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Steve, Emma and their two wonderful sons and staff make the Alamo special and memorable. My visit coincided with Andy Murray's victory at Wimbledon, a fete loyal Scot Steve marked with enthusiasm--the same enthusiasm he and Emma displayed, more quietly but no less sincerely, in making for comfortable breakfast-time chats and quiet evenings in their hotel home. The story of how the guest house got its name is an intriguing one. Full marks to the Alamo. It is a wonderful place.

WS, Brooklyn

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank stromovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Steve and Emma did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. They are wonderful hosts, and Steve's restaurant and travel advice is to be heeded! Many thanks -- we'll be back. I don't want to stay anywhere else when I visit Glasgow.

Room Tip: If you'd like an ensuite room and exclusive access to the lovely breakfast room after 9pm, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Alamo Guest House has a lot of character and is a beautiful place to stay. The hosts are very hospitable and carrying. We enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend the Alamo Guest House to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelizardking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The 4 of us had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights. This is no ordinary place: it's as good as the photos show. Something a bit special, with this decor. One pair of us took a non-ensuite & were just fine with that: a choice of bathrooms awaited us each time. We were superbly looked after in all respects. We liked the open outlook at the front, off the main road, & the fruit salads at breakfast too. Thank you, Alamo!

Room Tip: It's worth considering the choice of rooms because they do vary. Alamo reception is very happy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our stay at Alamo Guest House was just perfect. Nice and confortable rooms, welcoming staff and excellent location. We really enjoyed and will surely come back for our next trip to Glasgow. Many thanks !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
925 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 93 in Glasgow
915 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
376 reviews
Glasgow Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £63 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing