We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was my fourth time to Glasgow and my first time staying at this gorgeous guest house. It's such a pity that I didn't find this place the first time..... fantastic location for running,strolling round the park and the botanical gardens plus plenty of amazing places to have a bit to eat or grab a coffee. The staff were welcoming, the rooms were gorgeous including all the interiors and the breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

As a background, my wife and I spent two weeks traveling in Ireland and Scotland spending nearly every night in a B & B.
The basics. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good with a nice assortment of fresh fruits, cereal, eggs, croissants, and anything cooked from the kitchen
From the moment you walk in, it is clear that the owners have invested their lives and love into making this property more than an ordinary B&B. This old house has been lovingly restored to its 100 year plus grandeur. Strong proponents of greater Glasgow, they have great advice on, bars, restaurants, sites to see, and maps with directions of how to get there.
The sitting room is warm and comfortable with a great view out onto the park next door. A wee nip of Steve’s collection of single malts was a fine end to a busy day of being a tourist.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location on the edge of Kevingrove Park ideal for the art gallery and the university in one direction and city centre in the other.
The owners and staff are very welcoming and helpful. We loved the layout of the place - It felt as if you were staying at someone's house rather than at a guesthouse.
We stayed in a "basement" room which was bright and airy, but did not have an en suite bathroom. Not a big deal and the staff provided bathrobes.
Buffet style breakfast with hot food cooked to order - very tasty.
Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Glasgow - and will book direct rather via an agency.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked Room 2 as a graduation treat (3 nights) and it was worth every penny. The hotel itself has been restored beautifully, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was worth every bite. The proximity to Glasgow University, restaurants and the park make it an ideal place to stay and explore Glasgoe from. The bathroom was also amazing! A double size, sink into the floor circular tub, with wifi connection. I had a long bubble bath every night while watching Netflix. A perfect end to a day. I would recommend staying at the B&B again. The old hotel cat also added a certain amount of charm. The only thing missing was a bowl of sweeties by the front door :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414AlisonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed during our anniversary and were particularly fortunate to get Room 12 with the freestanding bath. The room was lovely, service impeccable and friendly and a great breakfast. A celebratory bottle of champagne from the owners was an extra special touch. Highly recommend. Deserves more than the 3 stars it has.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A lovely friendly B&B in the Fashionable Westend. We stay here one night when collecting our daughter from the Uni. Steve and Emma are very welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and we both had a brilliant night sleep. We usually find hotel rooms far too hot but this was just right! Breakfast had a good selection. The only drawback was the sausages were a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Una F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was one of our favorite B&Bs on our trip, and the one we splurged on for our honeymoon. The couple was very very friendly upon arrival and had no problems with our later check in, which was extremely refreshing after our mishaps at the Glasgow airport. Our room was fantastic and it was so nice to come back to after a long day exploring Edinburgh. The breakfast was buffet style, but the staff was right there to provide anything you needed. Overall a great B&B that we would stay at again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaitlynM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
884 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
369 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £71 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing