We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Host!”
Review of The Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian House
Ranked #30 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The stairs were a killer when you're hauling heavy luggage. Not easy to find due to poor directions in the B&B book. Parking outback was interesting. Only place that we weren't served a full Scottish breakfast, but what they did supply was good. Rooms were clean and charming, but the street noise kept you up. The highlight of the stay was the host, he was entertaining and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvia_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

The manager was incredibly rude and condescending when arrived and during two unfortunate interactions during my stay. When I attempted to check out, he simply ignored me. I waited a while and finally the housekeeper helped me check out. The breakfast was narrowly passable. The mattress desperately needed to be replaced as I could feel and see the coils sticking out. Overall, just avoid the Georgian House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

I am seriously unsure if this person was actually a guest. We do not have a check out procedure as such this is all covered on arrival. Also there is no housekeeper and we do not have coils in the bed. Yes and the rude part is also part of their imagination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed in Room 7 the "self catering" room which reminded me of a shabby bedsit. we were hardly there so didnt mind to much but even at £50 for the the night I couldnt even say it was good value for what you paid for.

Found the manager quite pleasant and he seemed similarly well mannered when I heard him talking to other guests.

Location is ideal and parking was free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dave_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here on work business(4 nights) and it is by far the worst i have stayed at (and i work away on a reguler basis). I was put in room 5. It was very tiny had to climb over bed to get from one side of room to the other.Furniture was dated. Quilt cover didnt fit quilt properly and was left sticking out the bottom. Bed wasnt made daily it was just thrown back on bed. Condiments were not replaced daily. Towels were not changed even when left on floor by shower in the morning. Room was very noisy even in the middle of the night(24hr take away opposite)and busy traffic noise. Window was poorly fitting and draughts were strong and cold. I woke on the 2nd morning covered in approx 25 bites. On returning home i visited my local pharmacy to be told either mosquito bites or bed bug bites. Now it was March in Scotland i dont think they have mosquitos. My work collegue was in room 6 in the basement. At 6am every morning he was woken by the owner ironing,washing and using the tumble dyrer right outside his door.His curtains didnt fit windows fully and being level with the car park felt like he was in a goldfish bowl.We didnt have breakfast as was told not available until 8.30 and we left at 7.30am to work. I would advise everybody to look elsewhere before thinking about staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wayneshell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Everything said in this review is a fabrication. These two guests had two non paying female guests in there room after midnight and were disturbing other guests. When we asked these two non paying guests to leave. These men got upset. Therefore the bad review.
The condiments are topped up daily. Our bedding fit's correctly and we had the issue of his medical condition investigated by an expert and surprise surprise nothing was found. But the expert we brought in carried out various procedures and we have replaced the bed.
Staff do not start work until 7.30 pm and breakfast starts at 08.00. however we can arrange things if you leave earlier.
In addition to this we asked theses two guests every evening if there were any problems and they every day answered no.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had Canadian relatives come stay with us in Highlands for two weeks holiday and we came to Glasgow to visit our son who lives in West End. We had family room and double for our relatives, both rooms were clean warm and comfortable and Gordon was particularly attentitive to us especially our granddaughter making us feel very welcome. The breakfast was ideal and we felt nothing was too much trouble. I wish I had know about this hotel before as we come to Glasgow often to visit our son, so its safe to say we will be back!! Thanks again x

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyndalou57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

i should have written this a while ago, we stayed here whilst attending a gig at ora more and couldnt believe our luck to find such a reasonable priced hotel within walking distance, we were even luckier to find that we were just across the road. Gordon was a delight, nothing was to much trouble, i ve never had such a warm welcome, such a pleasure to be served by someone so attentive. This man is remarkable, he seems to do everything himself, and i have no idea how he remains so happy. I ve worked in the hotel trade, and realise the strain involved and i think i could learn a lot from this guy. The rooms are spacious, well kept, in honesty could do with a little investment, and i ll be honest and say i was a little to hung over for breakfast. There was some fantastic bars/restaraunts within easy walking distance and so are the gardens. we will defenitly be back next time we visit glasgow. Gordon is a real gem. Thank you again

Room Tip: have a look at the pics, we got the same room we asked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My friend and I recently stayed here whilst visiting our sons in Glasgow and we were very happy with it. The room we had was lovely, spacious and warm, it was snowing and cold whilst we were there and the heating could be controlled by us in the bedroom and the bathroom which we liked. The beds were comfy and everything clean. It is an old house and there are some chips and cracks but this just added to its charm for us. We did have a room at the back that overlooked the Botanic Gardens and we were not disturbed at all by noise apart from first thing in the morning when we did hear other guests in the breakfast room, the door of which was directly opposite our room, but we were ready to get up by then anyway. Breakfast is basic; cereal, toast, and little pancakes that could go into the toaster, crepes that didn't, cold meat etc, we were happy with this as we then went out for a proper breakfast/brunch later. Gordon, the Manager, was brilliant fun, friendly and attentive and happy to give us extra tea, milk etc for our room. We paid £114 for three nights for two people and felt we had a bargain. The location is lovely, straight across the road from Byres Road and everything you want is there. Lovely pub, Owen Mur, just across the road. We didn't arrive until later but we informed the hotel first and they were waiting for us. We'd definitely go again as long as the price was right.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coxei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#21 of 35 in Glasgow
391 reviews
West End
Argyll Guest House
Argyll Guest House
#8 of 35 in Glasgow
247 reviews
South Side
Crosshill House
Crosshill House
#13 of 35 in Glasgow
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
369 reviews
City Centre
Hampton Court Guesthouse
Hampton Court Guesthouse
#11 of 35 in Glasgow
187 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £54 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing