We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Georgian House
Ranked #35 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Swindon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent 5 nights here,great service, great location, lovely self contained room, what really stands out for me is the extremely friendly Gordon. Cheap rates too and I really couldn't ask for more! Parking is at the rear of the hotel, easy to find location with lots of places to eat and drink within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yowiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    41
    21
    25
    35
See reviews for
20
58
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was our very first night of a tour of Scotland with our little border collie, Megan. We were horribly late because of train delays but this was no problem at all for Gordon. He really was the most wonderful warm welcome we were looking for on our arrival late night in mid-winter Glasgow. Despite the time, he took us through all our options for things to do that night, with good local knowledge of where we could find dog-friendly establishments locally. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt like we were staying with friends. The room was warm and comfortable and specially selected for us so that we could nip out the back door when Meg needed to go out. Good value and great location, a stone's throw from some very cool nightspots in the West End. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I stayed here a few months ago with a girl friend to visit another friend of ours. We booked a hotel last minute, never been to Glasgow before and didn't know what to expect. We booked a twin room and it was a very good price.
First of all we arrived late as we drove a long way and the traffic in parts was awful. I called the hotel to say would would be late for check in and asked if there'd be anyone to let us in so late (we weren't hopeful) the man who answered the phone was extremely helpful and kind and personally stayed late just to welcome us and let us in! When we got there we met Gordon, the man from the phone. Well, what a character! There was on site parking at the hotel and Gordon is hilarious. He was so welcoming, showed us to our room, carried our bags, even helped us to park. He told us all about the area, transport, shops, places to visit etc. when he showed us out room we were shocked, it was really beautiful!! We had a double bed and a single bed, huge Georgian windows, beautifully decorated, big bathroom with bath and shower. Couldn't fault it at all. Breakfast was lovely. As described, continental breakfast I closing breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, juices etc etc. Gordon even kept the breakfast room open a little longer noticing that we'd slept in a bit. Really couldn't ask for more, ha a great stay. Fantastic service, would definitely recommend it to others and would definitely go back there!! Ps, it's close to lots of cool bars, within walking distance, we really had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you . Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Regularly stay on business trips, always made to feel at home, Gordon the manager could not do more.
Everything to hand locally (bars, restaurants etc)
Rooms are large, clean and most with en-suite, beds comfortable, I would not keep going back if not really happy with the service provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Really kind of you to leave such nice comments . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

The photos are misleading, seems to be a simple and nice place but in reality is an horrible and old place that need of urgent works.
The manager/only employed/probably owner, has the craze that is funny, make jokes and have behaviors unreasonable.
The hotel is very noisy, it's impossible to sleep. The mattress is very bad. The windows didn't close properly
It's an old place without security plan or emergency exits, only a huge and dangerous ladder. Need of renovation urgent!
The bathroom is very degraded, the paint of the ceiling is peeling, the doors seem to have been collected in the garbage, old, patched, without paint, bath towels too small, only one hand towel, no amenities. Cleanliness is horrible.
The breakfast room and the presentation itself, is very unprofessional and questionable quality and hygiene. The breakfast is not very inviting. There are no forks!
It's not a good value for money, there are cheaper places much better than this one, we don't recomend for anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Micaxouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Sadly i remember these guests well.
Not only were they asked to refrain from smoking in there room but they were asked to stop disturbing other guests. I was also asked by a guest at breakfast to open the window due to a lack of personnel hygiene on there behalf.
Our emergency exits are clearly planned as are our fire drills (each room has a fire evaluation plan). Security is enhanced by CCTV and a member of staff is here all night in case of emergencies.
Our cleanliness as noted by other reviews is excellent and breakfast is freshly prepared daily..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Fantastic, would definitely use again and recommend it to everybody. Very warm and extremely informarmative welcome about what the area has to offer in terms of takeaway, pubs, bars, clubs and shopping. The room was fabulous, very comfortable, clean and extremely spacious. Had a great nights sleep, only a couple of mile from the SECC but had a 6am start so can't comment on the breakfast. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrCarlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

First impressions were encouraging, but the mattress was on its last legs, there was no hot water in the morning and the manager burst into our room without knocking, apparently having forgotten we were there. The final straw though was that when I phoned the next day to report that I had left behind my shaving brush I was told in was 'In the bin old chap', because 'It looked rather tatty'. The manager then put the phone down on me. Nil points for customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Put simply this complaint boils down to a disgusting old shaving brush that was left next to the bin. Our natural assumption was it was in such an embarrassing state that surly it was destined for the bin(and was in fact lying next to it).
There was no hot water because the boiler had broken and they were offered alternative alternative showering and washing facilities but declined and left without washing.
I did not continue the telephone conversation because the male guest was abusive.
Nil points for civility and hygiene on the guests part.
We also have a new a new boiler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 38 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Property: The Georgian House
Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing