We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel very welcome”
Review of The Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Georgian House
Ranked #33 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Maldon
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was booked by my office, which can be a bit of a lottery but in this instance I came up trumps!

I was met by Gordon who showed me to my room as well as kindly telling me where I could find shops, a place to eat and a free place to park (as my vehicle would not have fitted in the property's free parking.

The Wifi worked, as did all the other facilities and I was aware that he was helping some other guests whilst I was there (something about Krakatoa not erupting, if I recall) so I struggle to understand some of the comments made by other guests. True, it's an old property, but if you want soulless plastic windows, maybe a chain would be more your style? I slept without waking (but that's probably due to having a pure mind).

In addition, the breakfast is ample, clean and fresh and I was offered as much as I wanted. There is also a rather friendly cat there, Smokey, who is probably actually running the place...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    42
    21
    26
    37
See reviews for
22
60
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hotel is OK for the price - quite nice decor, and great location. If you do book though, please ask for a room at the back as the ones at the front are extremely noisy, being on Great Western Road - one of the busiest roads in Glasgow, and there is no double or secondary glazing. I had put a review on Booking.com as I had asked for a quiet room but had booked at short notice, and when I arrived - there weren't any quiet rooms. The person who responded on this website was very sarcastic saying "You booked the day before and Surprise Surprise... there were no quiet rooms left. We suggest you book in advance in future!" No need for sarcasm like that considering I didn't even get one hours sleep, and quite often it is not possible to book in advance. I am trying to give a fair review here. I imagine I am not the only one to complain about the noise.

Room Tip: Have put average value due to the noise of the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainebrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Worst hotel and service I have ever experienced in my entire life. Arrived early to be told to move our car from the present position as the receptionist (Basil Fawlty's twin) parked there. Got in at 16.00 to be told the owner was trying to sell and had lost interest and should have ran then but decided to make the best of a bad lot and boy was the room a bad lot. West End of Glasgow was right as were nearly sleeping in the street. Asked for a move to be told they were full and that was his best joke of the day. Still being the eternal optimist stayed for two hours and left.
Think Basil and the no longer interested own we must have written the reviews
Sum up in a word and can only think of one

DUMP

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Sadly this couple were not the normal standard of guest we have at The Georgian House(Thank goodness).
They did not complain about any item when checking in even when asked there was a problem.They asked for another room but only on the pretense of some made up illness.They had booked at the last moment so there was no alternative. Could this be why the room cost so little.

This complaint i assume started when they were asked to stop swearing. They also had an attitude and extremly rough appearance and smelled strongly of alcohol (i hope i am building a picture here).These guests also left a strange odor in the room that i am sure could be helped with soap and water.
All in all i am sure potential guests will understand the type of personality that these guests had. How glad we are they will not be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent 5 nights here,great service, great location, lovely self contained room, what really stands out for me is the extremely friendly Gordon. Cheap rates too and I really couldn't ask for more! Parking is at the rear of the hotel, easy to find location with lots of places to eat and drink within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yowiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was our very first night of a tour of Scotland with our little border collie, Megan. We were horribly late because of train delays but this was no problem at all for Gordon. He really was the most wonderful warm welcome we were looking for on our arrival late night in mid-winter Glasgow. Despite the time, he took us through all our options for things to do that night, with good local knowledge of where we could find dog-friendly establishments locally. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt like we were staying with friends. The room was warm and comfortable and specially selected for us so that we could nip out the back door when Meg needed to go out. Good value and great location, a stone's throw from some very cool nightspots in the West End. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I stayed here a few months ago with a girl friend to visit another friend of ours. We booked a hotel last minute, never been to Glasgow before and didn't know what to expect. We booked a twin room and it was a very good price.
First of all we arrived late as we drove a long way and the traffic in parts was awful. I called the hotel to say would would be late for check in and asked if there'd be anyone to let us in so late (we weren't hopeful) the man who answered the phone was extremely helpful and kind and personally stayed late just to welcome us and let us in! When we got there we met Gordon, the man from the phone. Well, what a character! There was on site parking at the hotel and Gordon is hilarious. He was so welcoming, showed us to our room, carried our bags, even helped us to park. He told us all about the area, transport, shops, places to visit etc. when he showed us out room we were shocked, it was really beautiful!! We had a double bed and a single bed, huge Georgian windows, beautifully decorated, big bathroom with bath and shower. Couldn't fault it at all. Breakfast was lovely. As described, continental breakfast I closing breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, juices etc etc. Gordon even kept the breakfast room open a little longer noticing that we'd slept in a bit. Really couldn't ask for more, ha a great stay. Fantastic service, would definitely recommend it to others and would definitely go back there!! Ps, it's close to lots of cool bars, within walking distance, we really had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you . Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Regularly stay on business trips, always made to feel at home, Gordon the manager could not do more.
Everything to hand locally (bars, restaurants etc)
Rooms are large, clean and most with en-suite, beds comfortable, I would not keep going back if not really happy with the service provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Really kind of you to leave such nice comments . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
63 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
308 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#73 of 93 in Glasgow
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 36 in Glasgow
343 reviews
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#22 of 36 in Glasgow
371 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 36 in Glasgow
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Property: The Georgian House
Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing