We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap as chips - but the Hilton it ain't”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian House
Ranked #35 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cheap as chips - but the Hilton it ain't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

A one night stay for £50 was great value. Central for Hillhead area and a v comfy bed. But the customer service manual has yet to be delivered and it took a while to get my prepaid voucher accepted.

Carpets in the room were stained and dirty, the furniture scratched and the shower seal leaky. A ringing phone outside my room added to the ambiance.

But you get what you pay for and this just about did the job. I didn't fancy breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanpenguin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    41
    21
    25
    35
See reviews for
20
58
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel was a find through booking.com, but you can book direct and get great rates. The meet and greet and check in were informal and professionally friendly. A contradiction I know, but the business side of check in was professional, whilst the meet and greet and help in providing knowledge to explore the area were very helpful. Our daughter was finishing her 2nd year at University so we were shattered and whilst the weather was stunningly hot, it made us a bit fraught.The hotel was just what was needed. Huge room,airy, very clean and fresh. High traditional ceilings. Slightly dated, but felt right for the building. Relaxed cereal based breakfast or Continental style with cold meats. Parking on site but not many spaces; however pay and display parking at the front. The hotel is off the main road, making it quite private for parking. It's rear totally overlooks the Botanical Gardens. We will go back.

Room Tip: There is no lift, but the stairs are wide and not too steep. The room was at the rear, so it looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfield, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived later in evening than planned. Had called ahead to notify. Very nice accommodating young man (sorry we neglected to get his name) checked us in & offered to help us with bags etc... & offered suggestions for dinner locations. Good location as it is easy walk to town offerings. Parking very limited here & odd & cars had to be shuffled around to accommodate. The room left a lot to be desired. Mattress was very uncomfortable & in great need of replacement - an antique! Room not very clean either especially the bathroom. Our room faced Great Western Road which was noisy all night. Between the road noise & mattress, did not sleep well at all. Breakfast - a joke! Mostly just cold cereal & toast. Very very little offerings. Coffee making ingredients were empty. Clean dishes seemed to be mixed in with dirty on a serving table. Bizarre. No one was attending to the breakfast either. Same Young man pleasantly checked us out & helped with bags. Would recommend him, but not the accommodation nor would we stay here again. Rank it at the bottom of the 5 places we stayed in Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pipersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

2 night weekend stay started terribly when we arrived to a man on the phone to the owner who continued his conversation while we were left standing in hall way, he rolled his eyes and made faces whilst on the phone and adjusting himself downstairs (if you know what I mean). Finally when we got to check in and payment was raised I questioned why I was being charged £75 a night when the sign outside said £20 and website said £29.99, as I had reserved through Booking.com I had to pay higher amount (book direct then). Room was okay apart from one of the twin beds mattresses springs had gone, I was sleeping at 225 degree angle with springs in my back. Shower had an old used luffa hanging up and mould around bottom. Only one small towel per person, no hand towel in toilet, had to ask for more. Wifi DID NOT WORK. Both myself and friend could not connect to it. I like to stay in clean, comfortable places so this place was not for me. If you need somewhere to rest your head and you don't mind eating cheese and coco pops for your breakfast then go for it.

Room Tip: Do not sleep at front of house, straight across from bar and club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miaprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunipace, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Brilliant place to stay, I booked this so we could stay in Glasgow the night of the Robbie Concert, shortly after I placed the booking I got a phone call for Gordon to advise of how our room would be made up (3 people staying) ideal for us. I had a chat with him and he was aware that we were going to the concert, and days before we were due to do I got a call from Gordon to say he had managed to get tickets and did we fancy a lift back from concert to hotel. We met with him as agreed and he ran us straight back. Defo above and beyond what you would expect booking into your big fancy hotels.
Continental breakfast the next day was perfect no complaints there, very nice breakfast room. Our room was clean and ideally situated for us, next time we need a stay over in Glasgow we will definately be back here.
Thanks for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Has to be the value for money place to stay in the City of Glasgow, the location just of the Byres Road is great for most of the city attractions and business areas
The place is spotlessly clean and the continental breakfast is worth the effort in the morning.
Definitely be going back.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Better than hotels twice its price, the Georgian is a great place to stay in the trendy west end of Glasgow. Right next to the Botanic Gardens and Byers Road, it's an unbelievable find. The price is kept low presumably through cheap toiletries and a continental breakfast but its much better than its price suggests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubelle_eireannach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 38 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Property: The Georgian House
Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing