We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Georgian House
Ranked #35 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Ramsey, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Could be amazing, excellent position. We had quiet room at the back. Breakfast was disappointing. Towels weren't changed every day, also only given one each, sheets not changed the entire week. A lot of work seemed to be expected from one member of staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    41
    21
    25
    35
See reviews for
20
58
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

At £22 per head for a room in central Glasgow our expectations were not high and the absence of anyone to open the hotel door didn't bode well. In the event the hotel was full and we were offered the use of the flat next door. It was lovely- kitchen with a rather odd mezzanine above, a truly enormous sitting room with space enough for three settees, chairs, TV, coffee table, our double bed (with fresh linen) and still maintain a v spacious feel. There was a basic bathroom with some hot water issues, and the Saturday night road noise was pretty loud to our country ears despite the lovely wooden shutters.
More picky guests might not have liked the damaged lino in the bathroom and the chair with the dodgy leg, but we were delighted to have so much space. The breakfast in the hotel next day was basic but perfectly adequate and the lone staff member very friendly. Great for travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the flat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Arrived at 18.00 to find nobody at 'home' and stood on the doorstep for an hour waiting for the manager to return... Then given a twin room instead of the double booked... The room in the basement did not have any windows, they were blocked by shutters which i could not open. The bathroom was unclean and the towel like sandpaper...The once excellent continental is now a shadow of what it was...seems that they do not care any more... the last maanger having left...sorry but can no longer reccomend the place and will nto be back...what a shame

Room Tip: room at the back and not in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Owner at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Honestly what do you expect. You pay little you get cheap.
We are a Budget hotel. Get real.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Despite some of the negative reviews we read here we thought we would give it a try as wanted to be near the Byers Road. We were not disappointed from the minute we booked in till we booked out! We found this place spotless, the breakfast was in abundance with lovely quality various pastries/cooked meats and cheese fresh rolls/bread. We felt the quality was very good. despite someone saying they had Iceland yogurts, simply not true. We are returning in the new year. Virginia could not be more helpful with a cheery disposition. Thanks again,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Glasgow. The Georgian house is in a nice area of Glasgow with lots of nice restaurants locally and is well served by the metro if you want to get into the center.
Unfortunately the former elegance of this Georgian residence has passed once you get beyond the entrance hall.
Our room on the first floor next to the breakfast room was very narrow only leaving approx 6" from the end of the bed to the wall the rest of the room was filled with the cheapest pine furniture imaginable that was falling apart the bathroom was tacky & in a very bad state
Breakfast was a do it yourself job (there is a kettle boil some water if you want some coffee) it was poor by any standard.
Parking was available round the back for up to 4 cars but beware any large will struggle to get in.
Would I use this place again? Only if the horses from hell dragged me there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Rodders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Where do I start?
Positives-
Clean bedding
Clean towels
Location.
New stair carpet
Negatives-
Our twin bedded room was a single with the guest bed that pulls out from underneath to make the second bed.
The En Suite is a room sectioned off within the room that is really grotty ( I have got photos)
There was a hole in the wooden window frame where the wind came through,they did have new wooden shutters up to be fair so we filled the hole with loo paper & then shut them.
My bedside light wasn't working so I looked to see where plug was big mistake huge amount of dust on the skirting was unbelievable,I wouldn't let husband look under bed for plug because if he saw more I wouldn't have stayed there.
The beds had 2 screws to attach the headboards to the wall,one of the headboards both screws were hanging out!
Also in 'the bathroom' the shower box on the ceiling was open where you could see wires.
So if you are offered room 9... Decline.
This is the first time I have had to review a place as bad.so sorry but we won't be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Owner at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
What do you expect for so little cash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

nice location,with clean fresh beds (which creaked terribly if you moved) but lacking in everything else. Staff were not friendly, in fact we hardly saw them apart from when they showed us to our room..Continental breakfast was very sparce, DIY toast and tea/coffee, with very cheap scones, cheese slices and cold ham. Three slices of each on a plate when we arrived,( despite six people arriving after us.) although more slices of meat and cheese eventually served there was barely enough for a slice each. At no time did staff check on guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgianhouse1000, Owner at The Georgian House, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are a cheap hotel so what do you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
252 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
280 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
303 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 38 in Glasgow
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Property: The Georgian House
Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing