We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted”
Review of The Ivory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ivory Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I invited my friends for my 50th birthday booked them into the Ivory expecting it to be nice and clean but unfortunately no it wasnt.Why cant you have cereal and a cooked breakfast is what i want to no.The hotel has let me down i dont want my friends wasting their money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shedevil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived to find it was connected to a pub with a birthday party in full swing.got to the room to find an empty juice bottle under the bed and a paper in the drawer.the noisy road kept us up most of the night and then again early in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandyfroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

my wife and i stayed here for four nights whilst my son was in the hospital for an operation .we arrived to find the stairs very dusty and the carpet in the room badly stained .we proceeded into the bathroom to find a bad smell of like bleach,the toilet was covered in urine and the sink pedestal had a long black stain down it.The bath tiles and shower curtain covered in damp with no non slip mat on floor after shower .the shower was connected to taps and was almost impossible to regulate ,both hot and cold taps had hot water coming out ,you either got roasted or foundered.THE skirting board was covered in dust and pubic hair ,the fire escape was blocked with bags of laundry and step ladders which would of been impassable in the event of a fire.Dinning area was a conservatory which was stinking with dust covering the strobe lighting and extractor fan ,also the blinds above on the ceiling .we were met by a large slatter crawling along the dinning room floor on our first visit .The staff were all young and disorganised and for the four days we were there never once was any cleaning done .cleaning of the toilet consisted of green cleaner poured down it there wasn't even a toilet brush in bathroom .all in all would not recommend this so called hotel.IT WAS DISGUSTING

Room Tip: To choose a good room go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Staff on arrival were friendly and efficient. The room was large with 2 double beds. Fluff on the carpet was off putting. one window didn't close and room was noisy from passing traffic because of this. The bathroom was dated and the shower curtain was disgusting, covered in black mould. Breakfast was ok, however I was unable to have cereal and a cooked breakfast!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank audbodFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My granddaughter and I stayed for a week, and were delighted with the accommodations and the facilities. The meals were outstanding for such a small place, but the best thing of all was the friendly and helpful staff. The whole place exceeded our expectations, and greatly impressed our Scottish family. Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Booked a 2 nights for 1 offer and we felt it was OK value for that. Not the best looking hotel from the outside and as you approached, hotel entrance closed off so reception accessed via the pub entrance. Car parking good, free wi-fi in bar area. Huge room and bathroom you could ballroom dance in. In need of some updating. Overlooked Queens Park which was nice. Corner rooms overlooked by close neighbours so privacy an issue and curtains had to be kept closed. One or two lights broken in room but nothing major and we managed.Breakfast arrangements a bit weird, could choose from continental OR cooked, both served at different times, we usually have some of everything and both. Close to local amenities and public transport systems and routes. Not the best but deffo not the worst, it met our needs.

Room Tip: Corner rooms nice and large but overlooked and privacy an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquelineManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Our family room was large and light with lovely views over Queen's Park - two double beds for the two of us. The exterior is a bit tatty, but the interior is a lot nicer, bedrooms have attractive furniture, kettle, TV adequate and nice white bedding, free wifi in the bar. The bathroom was poorly finished, but was clean, with toiletries and fresh towels provided. The cooked breakfast was excellent. We didnt eat in the sthis time, but have on other occasions and the food is lovely. The service is excellent, relaxed and friendly. We booked the two nights for the price of one which was very good value

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 10 Hotel
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
791 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#84 of 93 in Glasgow
300 reviews
The Parkville Hotel
#6 of 35 in Glasgow
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#30 of 35 in Glasgow
164 reviews
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#21 of 35 in Glasgow
391 reviews
South Side
Crosshill House
Crosshill House
#13 of 35 in Glasgow
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Hotel

Address: 2-4 Camphill Avenue, Glasgow G41 3AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ivory Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your The Ivory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivory Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing