We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill and seems to still be heading in that direction!”
Review of The Ivory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ivory Hotel
Ranked #23 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gone downhill and seems to still be heading in that direction!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Used to visit this place frequently but will be trying to avoid it.

The food used to be very good, now it seems to be just average. The drink is fine and it's a fairly comfortable bar/restaurant.

What makes this place so bad is the staff and they just keep getting worse!! Glum service at bar, even worse when ordering food from table. Staff are rude and unhelpful. Was dining in a large group here not that ong ago and the waiter came round and basically interrupted everyone by screaming out what the soup was! Not n a joking way either, deadly serious just standing there shouting at the customers, it made for an awkward few minutes! But the worse comes at the end of the night when customers get continually screamed at to hurry up and leave and even get their drinks taken off them. The staff here are a disaster.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    32
    18
    22
See reviews for
39
35
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Was good location for our party. Room nice and big, with lots of room available for a travel cot. Disappointing to see floor had not been cleaned very well as quite a bit of black hair on the floor and very noticeable crumbs and dust around edge of skirting by bathroom door. Bathroom small for size of room as we stayed in the quad room with 2 double beds. Shower didn't flow well as had to hold shower as it flowed to the side. Would be nice to have a menu available for breakfast and some fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanzklb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It did feel like living over the pub, although to be fair there was no pub noise came upstairs. We were warned there were at least 20 steps to the rooms - we were on the second floor, so make that 40! However, that really wasn't a problem. Our expectations were probably too high, based on the photo of a nicely-decorated and furnished room which had a 4-star look about it. The room was exactly as photographed. However, the expected hairdryer, landline phone, tissues etc were non-existent, although there was tea/coffee-making equipment and a TV which we couldn't get to work. As we couldn't ring staff about this, we didn't report it - didn't seem worth 40 steps down and the same back up! Reception is a tiny counter off the bar and although you enter through the bar, staff hadn't noticed our arrival, so we had to go looking for them - apologies and friendly service were then forthcoming.

We were there for a family party in the restaurant and the menu choice and food for that was very good. Breakfast was also very nice - no menu, but you could choose "anything or everything" from the standard cooked full breakfast. And the coffee was really good - from their coffee machine rather than just filtered or cafetiere coffee. It was good to hear home-grown Glaswegian accents from all the staff we encountered. Had we been able to take advantage of their "2 nights for the price of 1" offer it would have been good value. As it was, our previous stay in Glasgow, at the Menzies, was cheaper and definitely better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElmaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had to stay here for one night last month and was worst experience, we stayed in one of their family rooms, room was big, decor nice, but I can honestly say that the bed was worst one I have ever slept in (well tried to sleep in !!) springs were poking into you all over, seemed clean enough, bathroom was tired and dated, shower was like something from 1978! Staff were overall nice and helpful, hope will never have misfortune to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m-birse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here fpr 3 days as part of a group wedding booking and I can't recommend it enough. From the outside it does look a little tired, however the rooms were massive, mine was a twin, but had 2 double beds in and a cot.
The staff were wonderful, personal attention was given at all times and took the time to talk to us and get to know names and make the extra effort. The food was amazing, I was shocked to see what quality food was being provided for such a reasonable price. The restuarant was always busy even during the day which alone speaks for itself with food quality & service.
Coming home late from the wedding staff made sure we were ok, and early morning it was personal service, always happy to help.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and if I ever need to stay again, I would not hesitate to go back!
:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanbo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I booked 2 double rooms for 4 people months in advance for a special occasion and had email confirmation for both rooms. Even though I had taken the confirmation for both rooms with me, when we checked in we were told that they only had 1 room for us because 2 female staff members hadn't made the reservation properly on 'their system' and so the hotel manager had decided to cancel one of the rooms without informing me !!
The reservations were discussed at the time of booking with 2 members of staff and myself, telephone numbers given and bank card details taken but when I asked to speak to the girls they apparently no longer worked there and the hotel manager was off sick and they could only suggest we shared the room because there was 2 double beds in the room and that it would be impossible to get another hotel in Glasgow due to there being a concert at hampden !!!
luckily the other couple that were with us were family but we were absolutely disgusted and furious to be put into this situation. completely spoiled the special occasion that we visited Glasgow for.
There was no compensation offered for the complete shambles that they caused but they did say they wouldn't charge the other couple for having to sleep in the same room as us !!! How thoughtful !!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EAS303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September 2013 on a two for one price. It is on the south side of Glasgow close to Shawlands, and Hampden Park. It was fairly cheap £140 for a double and single for 2 nights. The mattresses had only sheets on, no matress protectors, the counterpanes were stained, the bathroom tiles were chipped and we had to ask for towels. The receptionist/waitress was cheery and helpful. The breakfasts were the best part of the stay. Can't say I could recommend this. Premier Inn at a cheap rate is far superior.

Room Tip: We had 11 at the back of the hotel which had the extractor from the kitchen outside the window which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 10 Hotel
#27 of 93 in Glasgow
766 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#82 of 93 in Glasgow
281 reviews
South Side
Crosshill House
Crosshill House
#24 of 36 in Glasgow
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#16 of 36 in Glasgow
29 reviews
Glasgow Guest House
#1 of 36 in Glasgow
580 reviews
West End
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#33 of 36 in Glasgow
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Hotel

Property: The Ivory Hotel
Address: 2-4 Camphill Avenue, Glasgow G41 3AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ivory Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Ivory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivory Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing