We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meal”
Review of The Ivory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ivory Hotel
Ranked #23 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My boyfriend and I ate in the restaurant at the Ivory a year ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. We decided to return with my sister recently and booked a table but was then a bit worried when we read the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. We decided to still give it a go and were not disappointed.
The meal was delicious and just as good as the last time we had been, my sister also really liked the food and atmosphere. 2 of us ordered the chicken & haggis and 1 ordered the blackened chicken and didn't have a bad word to say about any of it. We also ordered 3 different desserts (brownie, cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding) and these went down just as well as the main course. The staff were attentive and the service was good. There was a band playing traditional music playing later on which was really nice.
I obviously can't comment on the hotel because I haven't stayed there but I would definitely recommend the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn_Gla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    38
    32
    17
    22
See reviews for
38
35
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Breakfast poor , toilets dirty , manageress ill mannered, hotelrooms not great either, and the way they treated my two guests a disgrace.still waiting for the owner to phone me!!!!!!!!
Enough said.Just check the chiefs uniform pure dirty, if you dont believe me check it out for youself.

Room Tip: Dont go there,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank josephtfinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Probably the most infuriating bar in Glasgow ..... if not Scotland ...if not ........(you get the picture)!

Advertising entertainment that never takes place is just one of the many downsides of this overpriced bar..... avoid it and let their lack of sense of business run its course before it finally closes its doors in this administration and hopefully re-opens with someone who knows what they're doing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank johnnyboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights while attending a family party near by. The price we paid was excellent for the size and quality of the rooms, we stayed in a family room and it was spacious and clean. Ok so there were a few marks here and there on the walls and there was the odd stain on the carpet but the room was clean, the shower was great and the beds were comfy, which in my opinion is all you really need. The location of the hotel was great and we didn't have any issues with the noise from the bar / restaurant which we were at first slightly wary of with our 10 month old son. The staff were fantastic from the moment we checked in until the moment we left and the breakfast was delicious!!

Ignore the bad reviews and give them a go, we were all thrilled with our stay here and would definitely return! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_Rhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Friends recommended that we should stay in the Ivory and my wife and I were not disappointed.as the staff were very friendly and helpful . We won't forget Ashley's help with our check out and service over breakfast. The room was tidy and a good size.The beds very comfortable and we both slept well. Hope to stay again at some point.

Room Tip: Corner suits are indeed large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Clean room and bathroom. Nice location opposite queens park.
Stayed Saturday night, noise from the pub was very loud and trying to sleep before it stopped at midnight would have been difficult.
Would have liked to have seen the pre-dinner menu which is the only option Sunday to Thursday to have been offered all evening.
Breakfast is not included in the price and is probably the reason why there was milk and orange juice on the windowsill of one room. Continental available as early as you would want (something like 5.30) but hot breakfast not offered ( any day of the week) before 9am. I bought a porridge pot from the local co-op and added water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights while attending a family party. Our room was huge, with 2 double beds. Plenty of storage, but not the cleanest room I've ever stayed in. The bathroom was functional but could have done with a lick of paint. The beds were comfy and we all slept well.
Breakfast was freshly cooked, and the portions were just the right size. The staff were friendly.
Although the room was above the bar, with live music and DJs both nights. But to be honest this didn't stop me sleeping, but my husband was less pleased with it.
I would recommend this hotel for somewhere to crash. The evening menu also looked good but unfortunately we didn't have time to try it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMAH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
Number 10 Hotel
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
741 reviews
Redhurst Hotel
#56 of 95 in Glasgow
223 reviews
South Side
Crosshill House
Crosshill House
#25 of 36 in Glasgow
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royaume B&B
#30 of 36 in Glasgow
2 reviews
Giffnock B&B
#1 of 2 in Giffnock
43 reviews
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#20 of 36 in Glasgow
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Hotel

Property: The Ivory Hotel
Address: 2-4 Camphill Avenue, Glasgow G41 3AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Ivory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivory Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing