We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”
Review of Embassy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 with 3 friends for a gilry night out in the West End. We chose this accomodation due to the cost and location which were both excellent. 5 min walk to top of Byres road.

We booked a quad room but 5 could have stayed as there were enough beds in this self catering apartment. We had a lovely clean bathroom, kitchen/dining area and huge bedroom that also had a large sitting area with TV. What a comfortable, clean, spacious, self contained accomodation.

The staff were so helpful at check in, showing us to our room and took pride in showing us around, probably one of there best rooms.

I have given this a 5 as it suited our trip perfectly. If you were staying longer and hoping to be cooking meals-kitchen is small and was short of a few utensils and bathroom is situated in kitchen/dining area, but no complaints from us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    24
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
15
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We rented out half of all the apartments in the Embassy (only has 8 apartments) for a family wedding at the nearby hilton hotel. Apartments were great and very spacious. Just what you need when you have 15 people getting ready. Had everything you could ask for and very clean. The woman loved the hair straighteners in the bathrooms. Reception is in the hotel next door and we had a few beers in the hotel while the party got ready which was a bonus. We didn´t expect a bar.

Room Tip: Every rooms is great but room 5 is especially large
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in the family apartment at the Embassy Apartments and were extremely impressed. The apartment was extremely well equipped, spacious and clean. The bedroom could sleep five and was decorated very tastefully in keeping with the Georgian period. After a long flight from Australia it was wonderful to climb into the crisp white sheets and have a peaceful nights sleep. The kitchen and bathroom had everything you would need for self catering and the reception staff were friendly and courteous. There are restaurants and cafes within walking distance plus a lovely park over the road. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great place to stay with Botanics infront of apartments. Georgian building with big rooms and sufficient car parking. Good for the self caterer ,fully equiped kitchen
Next door Ambassador hotel is used for breakfast for the early starters. Close to Byers Road with plenty of shops ,resturants and transport. Friendly staff. Will stay again

Room Tip: Stay in the front rooms with view to the Botanics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Having previously stayed at both the Ambassador and Albion Hotels belonging to this group I decided to try the self catering option this time. I had asked to see the apartments last time I was at the Ambassador so went ahead and booked. It was only after that that I looked on Tripadvisor and saw the review about the bed bugs. Due to my previous experience with the group I decided to ignore it. I am glad I did, we had a large apt to the front,plenty of room,continuous hot water at no extra charge! We had a lovely few days. The bed bug review was for last summer, not current. Bed bugs are something that most hotels have to deal with at some time or another. Please dont be put off by it. Staff as usual could not be more helpful, will definately be back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jintyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I know several of these reviews have been around the sun a few times, but unless the hotel was torn down and reassembled with completely different staff in the past six months or so, I don't understand the negativity coming out here.
Upon arriving, we found a massive, fully restored Georgian or Victorian (I don't know the difference) room, complete with sitting area featuring a dining table and red leather sofa, and a kitchenette with everything one could ask for, even in their own flat.
Even on the Ground Floor, there was a lovely view over the Kelvin, and street noise was minimal for our stay.
The only (hardly) strikes against it was that the bathroom light had burned out, and they couldn't get a replacement (shaving light worked fine enough for us) and noise in the hallway could be heard from our room quite easily (this happened maybe twice during the three day stay, during late morning so essentially nae bother).
The receptionist who I interacted with most (maybe a mid-20s-ish chap) was also quick to help with any random request I cooked up. :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTactile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2010

These apartments are situated in a nice part of Glasgow, outside the city centre but very close to teh West End. The apartments are opposite the Botanic Gardens which is lovely. BUt that's about where the niceness ends...
We have ended up with flea bites or bed bug bites all over our bodies from staying in this place. It looks clean but obviously it isn't.
The kitchen equipment seemed quite dirty too which is not a surprise given they do not provide guests with dishwashing liquid and sponges. I thought that was just a standard feature in a serviced apartment but apparently not.
The hotel is very proud to advertise that in their 21 years of operating they have only ever increased their prices by 2.4%. This can only mean they are cutting costs in order to runa profitable business and that there standards are slipping.
Pay a little bit more and find somewhere else... it is fair better than being itchy all the time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC-CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
277 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
566 reviews
Albion Hotel
#58 of 95 in Glasgow
268 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Apartments

Property: Embassy Apartments
Address: 8 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These 4 star apartments are decorated in a classic style and are located directly behind Glasgow's famous Botanic Gardens, the lively Byres Road with its numerous restaurants, bars and shops is a 5 min walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing