We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve party”
Review of Redhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Redhurst Hotel
Ranked #50 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve party”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Children were at this occasion (none from our group) you had to go and collect your hot main course from the buffet in the middle of the floor, not a good idea as people were crossing each other with hot meals and very hot plates. The last child left at 3am as we were going to our not particularly warm room others in our party had very hot rooms, walls were very thin you can hear everything. Breakfast buffet was OK, had to ask for toast and butter, not served until 11am

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley S, Manager at Redhurst Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. With regards to your comments regarding children attending our Hogmanay Houlie, I apologise if you believed that this was an adult-only event as we welcome families, including children.

The style of service for main courses has been a success over previous years and parties are invited up table-by-table.

The Redhurst Hotel serves Bed & Brunch on New Year's Day as the majority of our guests appreciate a later breakfast at this celebratory time of year.

Your comments are appreciated and we look at them in a constructive manner in order for us to improve the quality of our standards and service.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    87
    36
    16
    8
See reviews for
78
71
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were at a function and stayed over as we live a distance away . Receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming . Room was a little chilly as was the function suite where the party was held but it was very clean and fresh and the bed was comfortable , a new mattress I think . No frills but okay for the price .
Breakfast was fine and again the young staff were friendly and efficient .

Room Tip: We were in a front room and although it looked out onto the car park it was quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jylivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley S, Manager at Redhurst Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments regarding the staff and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I travel the world on business, spending around 100 nights in hotels away from home. As I was home visiting family in Giffnock, I decided to book 2 nights at the Redhurst hotel. On arrival the room had a distinct musty smell, which did not disperse. I informed staff - but no remedy...The room needs condemned. I can only imagine that a cell in the local police station would be more comfortable. The room was freezing and heating did not work, so at 2am I went to Lobby to warm up...The room is featureless, no lamps, clock, headboard and furniture should be in a junk shop. Black mould in bathroom, broken shower head, grubby tiles and corroded fittings....thevlist goes on. Needless to say, I checked out next morning after complaining to booking.com (who did nothing). The hotel would not credit me back for my second night booked, quoting their ridiculous 24 hour cancellation policy,,,,, so not just a bad hotel, but Managemnt that lack any quality or guest care vision, Their need for my 60 pounds maybe greater than mine, goihg by the lack of investement in their property, they should be ashamed of themselves. Do yourself a favour and stay away. Personally, i'd rather sleep in my car.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DRS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley S, General Manager at Redhurst Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. The Hotels cancellation policy is 24hrs notice which was stated when you indicated that you may have to cancel your second night stay and unfortunately, no indication was given at this point regarding your dissatisfaction of your room. All rooms have had a light refurbishment with new carpets and decorated in neutral tones and with a 70% occupancy provide good value for money. Bookings.com agreed with the hotels policy and did not insist a refund. We have taken on board your comments and appreciate your time in posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite.
I canna speak too highly of all of the staff.no request was too hard.
there were some difficulties due to the current reorganising and refurbing oof the hotel....eg no phone or 'fridge in the room.....but this shouldn't detract from our overall experience which was excellent

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I read a lot of reviews before staying here and was a little worried by what I read.
We stayed for 1 night, for a wedding reception.
The check in was quick and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. When we got to the room, it was basic. I wasn't expecting the Ritz. The bed was comfortable, the water was piping hot and the room was clean. My only downside was that they only had one pillow on the bed.
I would recommend this hotel. We didn't have time to stay for breakfast so I can't tell what this was like.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jimd1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Had our wedding Reception in October and I can't fault the hotel. Both the organisation by Lorraine the wedding co-ordinator was excellent and the venue looked amazing and excellent value for money . The rooms were as described and had an excellent choice of tea coffee and hot chocolate.and the breakfast the next day was of the highest quality. I would definetly recommend this Hotel as a wedding reception venue or a party. The bar area was welcoming and the buffet was excellent at our wedding as many guests commented on this.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wully76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were very satisfied with the accommodations at the Redhurst Hotel...the room was clean and spacious, the shower had nice water pressure, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful, especially in light of the fact that there is no lift to the rooms. We ate in the pub and the meal was very good. It is close to the train station at Williamwood, but the platform has a lot of stairs and no ramp, so travel light. Ease of access to Glasgow and Edinburgh made this an ideal place for us to stay and the reasonable rates were the icing on the cake. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackylantern13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
1.5 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchard Park Hotel
Orchard Park Hotel
#62 of 93 in Glasgow
136 reviews
2.8 mi away
Number 10 Hotel
Number 10 Hotel
#26 of 93 in Glasgow
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
104 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Kings Park Hotel
Kings Park Hotel
#82 of 93 in Glasgow
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redhurst Hotel

Property: Redhurst Hotel
Address: 27 Eastwoodmains Road | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Redhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Redhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redhurst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing