We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever been to”
Review of Redhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redhurst Hotel
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We would never stay at this hotel again. The only reason we chose it was that we were visiting friends and family in the area. It is the grubbiest hotel I've ever had the displeasure of staying at. Mold in the bathroom and stains everywhere. The window frames are all rotting and the cupboards are falling apart. I would suggest that the owner spends some money up-dating the rooms before the health inspectors decide to pay a visit.

Good point: location, bad point: everything else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

The hotel is clean comfortable with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. All meals are of high standard including breakfasts. We have stayed regularly over the last 5 years. Excellect value, good parking and near train and buses.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartronella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

rooms and bathroom cold and dingy, all in need of a major refurbishment. quite posh area so expected better. breakfast good however and waitress friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staffock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Very run down, cramped. No alarm clock in the room, the wake-up call didn't work. Shower and sink have signs of caution, "scalding hot water". This hotel is overdue for refurbishing and updating. Hopefully, the owners will consider investing some of their income in bringing it up to date. Although they stated they had free internet, it did not pick up in our room. Only certain rooms were able to get the signal. There was not much of a common area to conduct business where the signal might be stronger.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagotraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Large group stayed for a number of days for a wedding in the Giffnock (south Glasgow)area. Hotel staff were all just wonderful attending to a myriad of small and large requests - all done with trademark Scottish good humour and courtesy. The hotel was comfortable and served us well for basic accommodation. Really appreciated the coffee, tea and hot chocolate and kettle in the room along with the shortbread cookies. Small rooms come with trouser press and hairdryer and complimentary soap and shampoo. Iron and ironing board available upon request. Would suggest equipping each room similarly...some had a shelf over sink, some didn't; some had towel bar, some towel ring (bar is better). Train to downtown is nearby. Direct line to taxi available...approx cost 12 pounds for 4 or 5 at this writing. Felt very safe when we propped our doors open and ran back and forth between rooms (we occupied up to 8 of the 17 rooms).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I booked into this hotel simply because I was going to see Coldplay at Hampden Park. This hotel is 3 train stops from Hampden and the journey takes 20 minutes door to door. Its a good hotel for that reason. Also on the plus side, the staff are very friendly and helpful. On the minus side, the hotel is very tired indeed and in need of a complete overhaul. Our room had no bedside tables, and was very warm. With the window open, an extractor fan made a terrible noise all night outside, so earplugs were essential. I would only use this hotel again for the location close to Hampden. Otherwise, avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Great_Cornholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helga1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
1.5 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchard Park Hotel
Orchard Park Hotel
#61 of 93 in Glasgow
140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Number 10 Hotel
Number 10 Hotel
#26 of 93 in Glasgow
781 reviews
4.9 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
426 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kings Park Hotel
Kings Park Hotel
#85 of 93 in Glasgow
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redhurst Hotel

Address: 27 Eastwoodmains Road | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £61 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Redhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redhurst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing