We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute Commonwealth Games accommodation”
Review of Tartan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tartan Lodge
West Lothian
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Last minute Commonwealth Games accommodation”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked a double room here just a day before arriving, to watch Commonwealth Games hockey the next day. It was a great price compared with other hotels for that night, and fairly central but far enough out for free on street parking. Our room was very clean and smart, the staff were friendly and the only snag was a lot of traffic noise - we left the skylight open as it was so hot. The continental breakfast was OK for the price. Other rooms were more like hostel dorms and there was a self catering kitchen, but this just made it seem a bit more friendly. The dining room was lovely. I would certainly be happy to stay there again if a suitable occasion arose, although the immediate surrounding streets are not attractive.

Room Tip: Our last minute double room was cheaper than two beds in a dormitory room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameron c, Manager at Tartan Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope to be greeting you back at Tartan Lodge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    116
    63
    38
    40
See reviews for
29
57
137
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in a four bunk room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Shelves and sockets in each bunk were a welcome addition, and an en-suite bathroom with power shower made (in my opinion) the Tartan Lodge fantastic value for money. A desk, shelving and lots of hooks in the room meant we had more than enough storage space for our hiking gear. Lockers were situated beneath the bunks, useful when sharing with others.

The 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Glasgow takes you by the Cathedral and through the merchant city, and a taxi back cost less than a tenner so the location was spot on for us- a lovely walk into town but also close enough for a quick taxi after a few beers late in the evening!

All the staff on reception were fantastic, we felt very welcome and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameron c, Manager at Tartan Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope to be greeting you back at Tartan Lodge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

On my way up to Stirling, myself and two others stayed in the Tartan Lodge. I wasn't expecting much because I knew it was a backpackers place and it was very cheap. We arrived around 10.30pm to the Tartan Lodge (which looks to have been a church once before) to be greeted by the most welcoming man on the front desk who showed us to our room. They had upgraded our room because they had the space, free of charge! The bathrooms were immaculate and obviously new. The fully equipped kitchen was spotless, with tea and coffee free! The two plug sockets at the side of my bed let me charge my camera and phone fully without leaving my side before we left in the morning. Finally i loved the tartan theme throughout and there was free wifi! No complaints at all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameron c, Manager at Tartan Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope to be greeting you back at Tartan Lodge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

i stayed in a 6 bed dorm and found the room very clean.
The bunk beds were fabulous, they even have a twin socket on every bed and u dont even need to leave your bed!
Ensuite was very good with a good power shower.
Kitchen and lounge facilities were very clean and good.
I love the tartan theme in the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amjad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameron c, Manager at Tartan Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope to be greeting you back at Tartan Lodge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
308 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,131 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
1,835 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,007 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tartan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tartan Lodge

Property: Tartan Lodge
Address: 235 Alexandra Parade, Glasgow G31 3AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tartan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm and contemporary elegance are interwoven in our hostel set within a former 19th century church and Masonic Lodge on Alexandra Parade, Glasgow. Tartan Lodge provides affordable accommodation for budget and business travellers in mind, comprising of a selection of double bedrooms and twin rooms all with ensuite bathrooms and LCD Tvs. Additionally, our boutique hotel has shared dormitories for budget travellers and backpackers, with a choice of eight, six, four and three bed dormitories for male and female only dormitories offering bespoke bunk bed design which offer a double plug socket, shelve and underneath storage for each bunk. All dormitories include ensuite and facilities for families as well. For an additional fee you can hire Towels from us for £2 (plus £5 deposit), or purchase a padlock for your bunk for £2. We also offer a reading light for each bunk which is available from reception. Tartan Lodge is located conveniently close to Glasgow Royal Infirmary and walking distance to Glasgow's Merchant City Cultural Quarter, George Square, Celtic Park and city centre shops and attractions. For refuelling in the evening, a host of pubs and restaurants are nearby in the Merchant City or within our own neighbourhood of Dennistoun. Guests are equally welcome to cook their own meals in our fully fitted kitchen with cooker, microwave and utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Tartan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartan Lodge Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing