We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnighter”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overnighter”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Only stayed one night but our party of six agreed hotel good value for money. Rooms basic but clean,beds very comfortable and bathroom everything it needed to be. bit noisy if at the front of hotel but it is on a busy road.
Cooked Breakfast more than hit the spot... Staff friendly smart and fast. All in all the ideal place for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeprest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    104
    97
    33
    27
See reviews for
21
134
50
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Only stayed here one night. On the plus side the location is very central and the price wasn't especially high. Minuses are the standard of rooms aren't that great - avoid being at the front if you do stay here as very noisy because of nightclubs - I changed rooms which the staff were perfectly helpful about.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It was advertised as a luxury hotel and it definitely was not. It had the odour of the unwashed, the place needed a good airing. The toilet seat didn't not fit on the toilet and the shower had lots of mould and mildew in it. A plate was used as a saucer for our tea service. They did have 'Deans' shortbread which was delicious. The cutlery in the Breakfast room was op shop quality. Luckily for the owners, the staff were fabulous. All the people on reception were helpful and lots of fun. The young lady who served us breakfast was efficient, attentive and charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanga193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

From walking in the door (which, albeit, takes a while to get to with the walk along to that end of Bath Street!), you feel you are in a clean and friendly place - the floor shines and the desk clerk (Frank especially) greets you with a smile! This was my second stay in The Newton, and it's my hotel of choice in Glasgow. At £45 a night for a double room it's not somewhere you go for a cheap night away, but it's worth it for the clean, comfortable and modern room, and the friendly staff. The shower was clean and powerful (although hard to find the right temperature straight away), the bed comfortable and clean, and there was a nice little tea and coffee tray and a small tv on the wall. We didn't make use of those two facilities, but it's nice they were there. Breakfast was very basic, but that's all I want anyway, nothing fancy. Lovely place - would absolutely recommend it. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very convenient location, one street full of restaurants and second one with plenty of bars. Just few minutes walk to city centre. Room – there is nothing to complain. Actually we were nicely surprised because price we paid was really good (cheaper with advance booking then at the hotel directly). Our room was located in ground floor with window to back street – and it is not nice view. Understand that this something like an operation corridor than a street but somebody from the hotel should care and clean the area. Staff was not rude but definitely not helpful. We arrived at 9:32 to the dining room and they said sorry, breakfast served until 9:30. But at least we served ourselves with corn flakes and milk and they bring us toast. For the price we paid definitely good deal. Clean and comfortable enough and well locate. Just parking is not for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the Robbie Williams concert. Located a few mins walk from Charing Cross Station and Sauchihall
Room location was downstairs and through dining room, however, due to the interior of most Glasgow establishments this was not a shock nor a surprise. This is to be expected in a city built in a hill !!!
The staff were very helpful and explained to us where our room was. Everyone on reception were extremely helpful at all times.
Room was very clean and it was very comfortable.
Breakfast was nice and was served quickly.
Would recommend this hotel as a reasonably priced, comfortable well located establishment

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twingo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

I was amazed by the hospitality of the staff, so polite, friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and neat, they supplied us with everything we requested.
Perfect location, a line bars and restaurants on the same street and around the hotel.
Close to city centre and tourist places.
Also the price is not bad for the place and location. Rooms are comfortable, sufficient space for 2 people and cosy.
Would recommend to people based on the above.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Property: Newton Hotel
Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing