We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights mid December. Lovely little hotel and only minutes from Sauchiehall Street and the City Centre an easy walk. Had a room right next to reception which was not the best as you could hear all the noise from people coming and going but apart from that the stay was fantastic, room was clean and tidy and breakfast was good. Definitely recommend for a short stay in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the a Newton hotel one night after a show at the Kings Theatre, the two rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the showers in the rooms were great the only down side the lighting in the rooms could have been better. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed overnight after seeing a show in the Kings theatre. Very pleasant and comfortable hotel, found the staff very friendly and helpful and very central for all the bars and shops! Room wasn't huge but sufficient and clean. Shower was terrific and plenty of choice for breakfast. All in all was great value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed at newton hotel for 1 night. Fantastic central location. Rooms very cosy. Bathrooms nice and modern with power showers. Room no.5 ...ok so the view isnt great but who goes to a hotel to sit in a room and stare out the window. Could not fault it one bit. Some people just love to moan. And the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definately stay here again. Breakfast was good except for the turkey rashers but u dont need to have these. Plenty cereal fresh fruit, juices, coffee. So do not listen to the bad reviews the newton hotel is a fantastic place to stay. X

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindamcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed at this establishment over one night with my partner when going to the Depeche Mode concert. We were greeted (actually ignored) by a surly receptionist who thought it more important to finish watching his YouTube clip than check us in. His repeated demands for ID were also a little over the top, I thought. The room we were initially shown to had a charming outlook over some waste ground - the usual Glasgow scene of broken bottles and fluttering crisp bags - and an unpleasant smell of raw sewage. We were, thankfully, shown to another room on the other side of the building (the surly receptionist had made a mistake). The bed was surprisingly uncomfortable, the room achingly hot and the shower plug blocked.

A restless nights sleep was followed by a breakfast of such poor quality food that I could not eat it (turkey rashers - really?); the hotel service ethic extending to the 'restaurant' staff.

I was going to say that for £50 a night you can't really complain but I have stayed in many other places for much less money and had a hugely better experience. Just feels like they are taking the piss!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are below ground level and are noisy - rooms on the other side come with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here in a double room over the weekend with my partner. The location in the city centre is excellent with all the shops, restaurants and bars just a short walk away.
The room itself was clean and comfortable and I enjoyed the breakfast in the morning.
If your looking for a nice comfortable stay with pleasant staff then I would recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was a cold evening when I stayed but both the room and the bathroom were very well heated and warm. The bathroom was large with a good shower. Biscuits and a hair dryer were provided in the room as well as the usual tea and coffee. The breakfast was a good choice of cooked and continental served in a comfortable dining room. Check in and out was quick and straightforward.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank tai671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 93 in Glasgow
576 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 93 in Glasgow
333 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,623 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing