We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

......Was ok for its money, small and quite old building but in a central place.. No elevator, poor breakfast but friendly staff and 24/7 reception access. The bathroom was very clean and the clean service was there every morning... Not very informed to give us tips about buses or tourist information though :/

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Argiebourgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Newton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

For starters, rooms are large and staff is fairly nice. Also the Newton Hotel is nicely located in the centre of Glasgow so trips to the shopping mall or the Mackintosh school of art are done without an effort. So far so good one might wonder. Okay, the TV was a bit small for the large room, the showerhead was worn out and de mattresses were not of the best quality but indeed, what you pay is what you get as others said before.

Yet our stay during an weekend in April was outright terrible. Rooms that are situated (especially room number 1!) at the front of the accommodation lie next to the busy Bath street and bring in a lot of traffic noise and at night drunk and loud clubbers congregate in front of the hotel waiting for a cab. Of course we anticipated for this to happen but a room change was not an option. A small part of me admits that noise coming from outside is beyond the control of the staff. However if management is aware of this, why aren’t windows better isolated? And moreover why is a room, such as nr. 1, a bedroom anyway and not a breakfast room or something like that? Noise like this (from people talking, cars driving by to screaming clubbers) is by no means something you want to place paying customers in. Or is it?

In the end the Newton Hotel is truly a cheap place to stay and gets you every standard thing you need. If you fancy car noise while sleeping, the rooms in front are just the ones you want to stay in. Do you want some drunk ‘talk’ to come along with that? No problem, if you book these rooms in the weekend this is thrown in for free! You get the idea right? An overnight in the Newton Hotel seems ideal for loud nightcrawlers who for some reason still need to rest. Nevertheless, I suppose most travelers value a good sleep. I would not recommend an overnight in this place. Glasgow probably has something better to offer. If you don’t have a better option and want some peace and quiet, avoid the rooms in front and don’t, I repeat, don’t book in weekends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent time in Glasgow.The hotel was good value for money,but a bit too far away from everything.Breakfast was in with the price which was even better.In most of the hotels it was individually priced.The room they put us in meant we were up and down stairs a few times,apart from that everything else was good.The staff worked really hard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southtynesidediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. The room was tiny, barely fitted the double bed, and left little room for bags etc. The bed itself had a mattress that directed all occupants straight to the centre of the bed. Pillows were a bit thin and light on for numbers. The room was quite noisy as well...plumbing perhaps? The shower looked like something from Dr Who with multiple jets etc designed for a spa effect I think. It seemed an odd addition to a budget room.
There is very limited car parking available at the rear of the hotel accessed via the rear lane way. It is open so offers no security. These places need to be pre booked.
This IS a budget hotel and the location suited us but I'm not sure that these things make up for the poor quality of sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Check in was easy and staff friendly. Room was very small but it was only for one night so it was fine. Shower was good, very powerful. Bathroom was in need of a good clean around the sink and radiator. Breakfast was not bad juice was warm as sitting out on the counter.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Lgow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Like to the point that we timed the noises made by the plumbing and every 4 minutes the toilet had to let off some steam. All through the night there was just no stopping it, to the point we returned home shattered.

Our room was a little dark and small but clean enough and we were only staying for the night so not too much of a problem. I can't believe that people who stayed in room 7 havn't mentioned the plumbing though?

Room Tip: Ask for one to the front
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We used this hotel as it was a good price and close to King Tut's where we were going to a gig later. We didn't really have any expectations and only wanted somewhere to put our heads down after a good night out but were pleasantly surprised. The room was spotless, all the usual stuff, tea/coffee etc. shower excellent and staff very friendly, breakfast was just ok but no complaints and would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caireen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 93 in Glasgow
569 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing