We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience All Round”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 26 July 2014

With limited choice because of the Commonwealth games and short notice, we chose Newton Hotel but at an incredible price @ £299 per night! My view is this should be a £20-40 a night hotel and is comparable to a travel lodge.


Firstly the room we was given was on the ground floor next to reception - the walls are about 2cm thick and we could hear the security guard all night and morning talking, people in, people out!

Secondly the room wasnt cleaned properly - hair on the toilet bowl..

Thirdly the shower drained so slowly that you could only spend about 5 minutes in the shower before the shower tray would start to overflow.

Fourthly the breakfast was abysmal - the sausages were probably the cheapest you could find in a supermarket and the bacon wasnt bacon.. it was turkey strips?!


To end on a positive note, the hotel is well located and the staff were pleasant..

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms 5 or 6.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hariboooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Newton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Conveniently located within around twnety minutes walk of station the hotle offered really good value for a city centre stop. Room was in basement but had light from window. It was on the small side but had everything we needed and bed was comfortable. Shower was brilliant. Breakfast offered some unusual selections but was never the less very tasty andplentiful. We would certainly visit again if staying in Glasgow and feel we have never had such a good bed and breakfast for just £59 in any other cities. Lastly must mention the staff who were all so helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Next to the major high street and 10 minutes from town centre.
No frills room. Only issue was our room looked onto a parking lot, backs of restaurants so lights and activity well into the small hours. My bed was next to window so swapped ends. Breakfast was very good. Potato cakes new to me as was turkey bacon! Good portions. 24hr reception so handy too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cometconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well, we pulled up outside, and I thought omg what have I done? Yeah, it was only £50 for the night, but it really looked like a dump. Still, better than a cardboard box, and only 1 night.

Well, to my surprise when we walked into reception what a difference! Quite modern, really friendly guy on reception....mm not bad. Oh but the best was to come, our room was huge!!! A really nice king size bed, nice bathroom with multi jet shower, I really couldn't fault it.

The hotel is really central, so handy for everything, shopping, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Parking is a bit of an issue, but we arrived late in the afternoon on the Saturday, and you don't have to pay street parking on a Sunday so all good.

The only downside was breakfast....... Now don't get me wrong, cereals, fruit juices, tea and coffee great, but the full breakfast was dry and not very nice. Obviously everything had been sitting for a while and it just wasn't appetising at all. The staff though were fab, very attentive and helpful.

I'd stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmac1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

terrible customer service , with one day to go I have been told that this hotel has double booked my room, for 4 adults they have offered me a hotel 15 minutes away from the city centre with no other solution , Thanks for nothing Newton Hotel !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Pweb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here for one night with my husband, first impression was that the hotel was nice and clean, we asked for the parking which cost £5.00 for the night, this was at the back of the hotel and was no more than a piece of waste ground. We walked through the corridor to our room and the stench of cat urine hit us, it was foul. Our room was on the upper floor which looked onto the wasteground, clean enough but the towels were very thin and we were only given one each and there was a horrible smell in the bathroom also. We could not get the tv to work and we asked at reception and was told to press some buttons, still did not work. Breakfast in the morning was just about edible, an did not have the items which was mentioned in the menu. i.e. fresh fruit etc. I personally would not stay here again but if you are on a budget and not to bothered where you lay your head then it would be ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppetheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a great hotel in the centre of Glasgow and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breafast is lovely and have now stayed there a few times. The family rooms are especially nice and very roomy!

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 14 and also room 17 and they were lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 93 in Glasgow
569 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing