We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Saturday lunch”

Hutchesons Bar and Brasserie
Ranked #122 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hutchesons is an A-listed architectural icon on Ingram Street, which has been transformed into a beautiful dining experience in Glasgow. Immerse yourself in our three floors, complete with a charming 158 bar at street level where you can enjoy coffee through to lunch and cocktails, or indulge in our Scotch steak and seafood in our bustling grand brasserie restaurant. From elegant bubbles and brunches to our famous Oyster Happy Hour, Hutchesons is destination dining at its best. We also have a private dining and meeting space available to hire. Join us at Hutchesons from 9am Monday to Friday and from 10am Saturday to Sunday for breakfast, lunch or dinner, seven days a week.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely Saturday lunch”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I had a lovely lunch here on Saturday. Staff were very attentive and polite. I had fish and chips Md hubby had pulled pork sandwich. Tried one of the cocktails - Parma violet, it was delicious and yes tasted just like the sweeties. Hubby had a pint of Birra Morretti. We then shared the apple tart with cinnamon ice cream. It must be good for me to have sweet as I do not eat many. It's was all delicious, with a lovely window view on the street and people of Glasgow. Perfect

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milly1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    169
    62
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing space, great meal”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just a lovely building. We were in the main dining room upstairs. Food and service was lovely. Great for a special occasion or a dressy dinner. Could look at the windows and ceiling for hours.

Starter:

SLOW POACHED HEN’S EGG - asparagus & truffle hollandaise £6.95 - warm and inviting, asparagus had enough crunch for great texture

Mains:

WHOLE LEMON SOLE - toasted almond and parsley beurre meuniere and french fries £22.95 - crispy chips and a flavorful piece of fish cooked perfectly. nice and buttery

SALADE NICOISE - seared tuna fillet, silver anchoives, mixed leaves, potato, green beans, olives, egg and tomato £19.95 - fresh piece of fish cooked rare, and I liked that the fish and potatoes were hot to gently warm the rest of the salad.

Would hit there again surely

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We visited for lunch on the last Friday of the piping festival and following several good reviews in the press. We ate upstairs, the staff were helpful and attentive and the decor is almost faultless. We had chicken liver pate with brioche to start, the brioche was under toasted and the whole dish was greasy and cloying on the palate. The steak we both had as a main was presented medium rare as requested, but it was tough to cut and and even tougher to eat. Our plates were swimming in juices at the end suggesting the steak had not been properly rested prior to service. The wine prices are not "eye watering" but the £16 for 50cl Chilean red was no better than sub £5 bottles available from supermarkets. Incidentally, the springy floor upstairs left me feeling "seasick" every time a member of the waiting staff marched past. The whole experience was disappointing and doubt we would ever return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food in Stunning Surroundings”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hutcheson's Hall is a beautiful early nineteenth century building in the Merchant City of Glasgow. It had fallen into disrepair but has risen in its new guise as a restaurant looking beautiful. It is worth visiting for a drink just to see the architecture. The evening didn't start well as we were kept waiting rather a long time as the restaurant entrance was closed off and the greeter was not in evidence. When this obstacle was passed we were served by a charming, attentive and witty waiter some delightful and delicious food. The fabulous room completed a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Saturday lunch but could have been better.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were looking forward to our Saturday lunch as it was a special occasion, and the first time 4 of us had the opportunity to get together and enjoy a Saturday afternoon in Glasgow. I booked on-line, and arrived ahead of the party to find there was no record of the booking, so I wasn't impressed but was pleased they could give us a table. Had to ask twice for the lunch menu and twice for a jug of water. Unfortunately the waitress also had an accident and smashed a just filled wine glass over the table. Food was very good, and there was a nice atmosphere, so overall we had a good time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hutchesons Bar and Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Hutchesons Bar and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing