We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great restaurant ”

Gamba Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 2,667 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Cross street: West Campbell Street
Transit: Buchanan St underground is a short walk. Queen St station and Glasgow Central station are both close by.
Description: The award-winning Gamba restaurant in Glasgow serves the best seafood available in its own unique style, and has established a formidable reputation for quality.
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Can not fault from food to service. Had a beautiful meal. Starter of fish soup , girlfriend had salmon, crabmeat and mango both amazing. Mains of scallops with monkfish and halibut both excellent. Wine list seemed a little overpriced for what we had £45 for a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc ( they do have cheaper ) Overall good value because service was 5+ stars. Definitely on the return list for next trip to Glasgow.

1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambaGlasgow, General Manager at Gamba Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Mark F,

Thank you for taking time sharing your dinner experience.
We are delighted you enjoyed our food and service!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gamba again soon.

Best regards,


Luiza Devarajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

I visited Gamba for lunch to celebrate my wife's birthday. The quality of food was excellent. The standouts were beetroot and horseradish soup, Portland crab and stem ginger soup and a sublime hake main course. The staff were were very pleasant giving excellent service.

2  Thank Jim. A. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambaGlasgow, General Manager at Gamba Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Jim.A.M,

Happy belated birthday to your wife ! We are so glad, we made it even more special. Thanks for the delicious comments about our food and service!

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Luiza & Gamba team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

A great feel to this basement restaurant which is quite large.
Excellent and polished service - very professional.
A good menu with emphasis on fish all of which was very well cooked.
The place had style and we would look forward to going back asap.
I had a fish soup starter and scallops and black pudding as a main course - delicious!

3  Thank lockyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambaGlasgow, General Manager at Gamba Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear lockyCardiff,

Thank you very much for sharing your dinner experience of Gamba! Our fish soup "foup" is top popular dish and brings many customers back for more!
I will pass on your kind comments to all staffs.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best fishes,

Luiza & Gamba team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I had the opportunity to done here with friends and it was a most enjoyable evening. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this restaurant to anyone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jinxterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambaGlasgow, General Manager at Gamba Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Jinxterie,

Thank you for your 5* review regards to our food and service!

It would be nice to see you and your friends if you decide to visit Glasgow again.

Kind regards,


Luiza Devarajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Excellent business lunch last week for three people - I had fish soup and the hake which was fabulous! One of my colleagues had the sea bream and thought it was the best she's tasted in a long time. Great value for money and will be back for sure! Thank you again to Derek and his great team for good service and delicious food :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lou2990559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambaGlasgow, Owner at Gamba Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Louise

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your lunch visit with us,your comments are very much appreciated by myself and the staff.

Kind regards
Derek Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gamba Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Gamba Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing