We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect balance of town and country”
other travellers have booked this property
cottage by the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cottage by the water
view from waterfall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
cottage by the water
view from waterfall
the scottish thistle
your own door
welcome enjoy your stay
kitchen
your own kitchen
free tea nnd coffee
bathroom
garden
garden
garden
explore the garden
Waterfall next to cottage
wintertime
waterfall in the snow
Water next to cottage
view from garden
private drive to cottage
our pet pony pepsi
walkway next to house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Julia O
Starkville, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Perfect balance of town and country”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a marvelous holiday! The cottage is located right on a footpath, by a babbling brook, tucked away from the main road. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, and one of the footpaths leads to the town with a pub, restaurants, co-op and train station. There's a train every 20 minutes to Glasgow, and it's just a 10-minute ride. Very easy to get around. The cottage itself is quiet, very cozy, with such comfy furniture (and sky t.v.) that you don't mind if it rains and you spend a lazy day in. The kitchen is fully equipped to make a good meal do some laundry. Bath / shower comes with luxurious soaps and plenty of hot water. Best of all, Elaine and Karen could not be more gracious as hosts. They picked us up from the train station upon our arrival (we didn't have a car) and helped us find the best footpaths for our adventures. They really make you feel welcome and clearly enjoy hosting people from all over. We would stay again in a heartbeat, and hope to come to Glasgow again, soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val D
North of Pittsburgh
1 review
“Marvellous and magical way to stay.”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Marvellous and magical way to stay. And so began my "Bucket List" UK summer tour.

Finally took the big leap of faith to the land across the pond. For years I longed to feel the long days light of the upper latitudes.

The cottage and gardens were as a dream come true for me. Beautifully pastoral in all ways. The windy rain sky & the blue patches of sunny in between are a great pleasure to behold exceptionally satisfying to see, hear, think about, etc...delighting the senses of my mind. Loved the whimsy and comfy with all the modern conveniences this accommodation provided.

Thanks for all the wonderful assistance from super fantastic lovely hosts & the sharing of their adorable animal companions. If this is Scotland country life... you had me at hello!

So praying I will be back for more. Thank you Karen and Elaine

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
1 review
“This rental is like a little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Every little detail was thought of. Karen and Elaine made us feel so welcome in the most beautiful piece of land with the magical cottage. We even had our own visiting squirrel. Pepsi, the Shetland pony grazed away as though we weren't there and the two cats were absolutely gorgeous. We were a short drive away from a pub that served terrific meals and also from Kirkintilloch, a small place with all the amenities. We wanted to post parcels home and Elaine even offered to take us to the post office and sort out the postage. We wish we had booked for a longer stay and would recommend this piece of heaven to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dennisg51
Mollymook, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage on private road”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great help from Ashleigh (Karen's daughter) on arrival as cottage was a little hard to find....Google Maps has now been alerted & fixed - TIP: use "Bothlynbank Cottage Accommodation" as a map reference.

Nice peaceful location and facilities well setup, hosts most happy to make your stay welcoming.

A few items needed some tlc and these were brought to their attention.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummybee
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is in a lovely setting and is well thought out.
The owners go above and beyond what we expected. All in all we had a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra L
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could not be improved upon!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and I were on a short break to visit my daughter's future inlaws in a nearby town and to sort out bits and pieces for her future wedding in Glasgow in October. It could have been a very stressful time but Karen and Elaine made us so welcome and provided so many extras that we immediately felt at home and were able to relax in the evenings and those few free hours we had back at base. Their cottage is a delight, so cosy and pretty.The bed is one of the most comfy we have slept in and the garden a haven of peace in which to wander and reflect on the day. I was accompanied by one of their cats called Charlie as I walked, who made delightful company. Whilst the cottage is tucked down a private lane , it was so easy and quick to access everywhere we wanted to go on our trip. Do pay Karen and Elaine a visit. You will not be disappointed.We intend to return soon. Thank you Karen and Elaine for letting us share your little piece of Heaven on Earth.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing