We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, even better customer experience”

Roastit Bubbly Jocks
Reserve with OpenTable
Roastit Bubbly Jocks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
stranraer
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food, even better customer experience”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked this restaurant for 4 of us for an early dinner before going to the cinema. On arrival we were given the choice to sit anywhere we wanted and opted for the window seats. The waiter promptly took our drinks order and left us to select from the menu. The drinks were quickly supplied and he patiently waited for our order. The "banter" from the waiter was 1st class and certainly cheered all our spirits up. The starter was great and the main course excellent and plentiful. The cost for drinks and dinner was less than £20 each which was outstanding value. Would we go here again, yes in a heartbeat. The value was great but the customer experience, purely down to the waiter was priceless.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    125
    26
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely be back”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having failed several times previously to get a table at this restaurant I can now see why it's so popular. The menu offers a good selection of dishes at extremely reasonable prices. Homemade tomato & sweet potato soup to start was an excellent choice as was the main course Sunday roast rib of beef. Portions were generous so unfortunately didn't manage dessert. Some improvement could perhaps be made in the décor - there are nice touches but overall its a bit confused. This is more than made up for by the friendly welcome, comfortable atmosphere and quality of food however. Although we didn't arrive until fairly late we were still given our first drinks free as advertised for early diners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“llast minute meal.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Birthday celebration for my wife.
Service was first class free glass of wine got us of to a good start.
choice of food was first class,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and delicious food”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The front of house staff and the kitchen were vying for top place when we went in as a party of four the other night. The decor and candles in the window all added to the good feeling; staff were attentive and informative and quite understanding of my wheat intolerance and tweaked a sauce to suit me. The veg was well presented and perfectly cooked and the range of meat/fish we all had was equally cooked 'just right' with well chosen accompanying sauces. The wine was amazingly good at a good price too. All four of us enjoyed every mouthful and we'll make a point of 'Roastin oor Bubblyjocks' whenever we are in Partick. Do go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GallopingGranny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy, with class.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I dropped in here for a late lunch this weekend, and found a small but immaculately presented restaurant.
Was going to have just soup but then I saw that my favourite, Eggs Benedict, was available on the brunch menu until 5pm.
This was served with 2 perfectly runny eggs (not too runny) and the most delicious Renfrewshire bacon (best ever) even the Hollandaise sauce was sublime!
The welcome on entering was friendly and the service was most attentive but not bothersome at all. The decor was sweet with tartan bows on water bottles and thistle centrepieces on the tables. But modern looking rather than just touristy.
There are cheaper places to eat around here, but the food IS a cut above.
This restaurant is family friendly, I saw a small child and a baby there enjoying a family meal out.
I would say the dress code is smart casual.
The only problem with the ambience was that the music was a little outdated, "Billie Jean" anyone?
I would recommend this restaurant for the excellent chef and staff though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyMum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roastit Bubbly Jocks also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Roastit Bubbly Jocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing