We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Cabin

Cabin
Ranked #673 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$57
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Thanks again to James and the staff at The Cabin for a wonderful meal ... but very special thanks to Dennis for being one of the very best, most attentive and hard-working front-of-house members of staff ... you made by birthday celebration memorable and enchanted my guests with your wit and Irish charm.

The food was quite superb and the very varied menu had something that appealed to everyone in our party (ages ranging from 11 to 70).

We were disappointed at the lack of the sing-song ... the singer having called in sick ... but the atmosphere was relaxed and happy. A very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    57
    22
    16
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Fun”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

I had heard of this restaurant from a work colleague and it didn't disappoint. Food was fresh ,flavoursome and plentiful. nice Pinot noir for £22 After the meal one of the staff sings & everyone joins in. Sounds. cheesey but it's great fun like tuneful karaoke. Booked for a Christmas night out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistantly excellent food and wonderful service.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Cabin is one of Glasgow's best kept secrets. The food is always fresh and of outstanding quality.

I visited The Cabin with my family at the weeekend and despite having a hen party booked they were very accommodating and gave us a table before the hens were due - there was no rush. As always the service was great, very welcoming and friendly. It's a fantastic relaxed atmosphere.

We all tried each others dishes and I still cant decide which was best - the lamb, duck, fish of teh day and veal were delicious. I do have to recommend the veal casserole on my Dad's instance - he is still raving about it.

Thanks again to James and the staff at The Cabin for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaelym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Slightly Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Food was nice but cheeseboard was poor with 3 VERY small pieces of cheese.
It was a very quiet Sat night with only 12 customers. There was no sing-song since 3 tables left at 9.30, possibly due to lack of atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arbuckle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“warm friendly atmosphere and freshly prepared food”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Having taken many people to this restaurant i decided to try it out for myself.
It is tucked away on Dumbarton road and unless you knew it was there then it would lie undiscovered .
The owner/waiter was enthusiastic and welcoming and explained the dishes of the day.
It has a real old family atmosphere about it.
Apparently at the weekend the restaurant provide entertainment and it is best that you book in advance.
The food is prepared freshly and there was plenty of it.
Definately worthan out of town visit

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewbhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing