We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ho Wong

Ho Wong
Ranked #339 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$72 - US$72
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Anderston
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have been coming here for over 20 years and every meal is always up to standard. The set menu is definitely value for money. Service always outstanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    118
    41
    39
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“I've started so I'll finish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I had previously visited "The Ho Wong" but it was many years ago, the food was great then and still is! Another thing that hasn't changed is that it's rather pricey, but let's forget that for the moment....
Would I go back? Quite simply, yes. Why? Well here you will find an amazing selection of "different" seafood dishes as well as the mainstream ones.
Monkfish in black bean sauce,absolutely fantastic.
Selection of prawn starters,pricey but good.
Service? Erm... Put it this way, I hate being watched continuously when I'm eating...reminds me of dinner school! Plates are rapidly taken away too, I was not finished and had to say to avoid my plate being taken!
Conclusion: Easily one of the best restaurants and they know it by the prices they charge
Take away the patrolling plate snatchers and it would be even better

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ModStu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monpazier, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had lunch here 10 days ago and made the mistake of not having the 'business' lunch - which was reasonably priced. Instead we had 2 starters, 2 main dishes, 1 rice, 1 beer and 3 diet Cokes. £80. Who are they kidding? This is ridiculous. Food was very nice, but not outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCOENGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Glasgow ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal and great service. Would go back in a hurry. Reasonably priced and great food. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Calvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My first time in this restuarant, we certainly weren't disappointed. Service was good from friendly staff , the lunch menu had plenty of choice with good size portions , the best Chinese we have tasted so far

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ho Wong also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ho Wong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing