We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Perfection”
Review of City Merchant

City Merchant
Ranked #216 of 2,602 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Cannot rate this place highly enough. Been going for years and have never had anything that was less than excellent. Fish restaurant yes but they know how to do red meat and game brilliantly too. Lovely either for a nice lunch, romantic dinner or family gathering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JudyEMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Many thanks for the fabulous review, we always love getting them...keep them coming ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 715 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Visited clutching my Itison voucher for two main courses and a bottle of wine. We were given a warm and friendly welcome. The rose wine was Chilean and very palatable. For main we both had Duck although we were not asked how we would like it cooked it came cooked to perfection. We added two sweets and all in all it was a very nice meal. Worth a visit

Thank Royalscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Glad you took advantage of your voucher, it was very popular. Hope you visit again soon (and look out for more deals...we also offer deals via our facebook page, maybe worth having a look)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had lunch with 3 work colleagues and was impressed with the warm and very friendly welcome when we arrived.

Ordered from a good set menu with lots of choice for all tastes. Our waiter Steven was friendly and extremely informative on the specials and what was popular with other diners. The starters were prompt and the food was extremely fresh. We also ordered a side dish of fresh bread and dipping oils for all 4 to share. The bread was delicious. Main course was perfectly cooked fish and the clootie dumpling pudding was brilliant.

I would highly recommend and will return for the evening service very soon.

    • Service
Thank Anderson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Happy you enjoyed your lunch, lets hope you visit again for dinner where we can show off our extensive a la carte menu! thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fantastic experience. Been here numerous times and brought my Aunt for her birthday. Always exceeds expectation. Pre theatre is exceptional value, food of the highest standard. Service impeccable and Stephen was particularly attentive and accommodating. A wee birthday candle and ice cream topped of a great experience. Will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1888Paul1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Many thanks for the review, Steven has had a few mentions on Tripadvisor already and we fear it is going to his head ;) Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we were in for a birthday lunch on Saturday 2nd. Food really nice nice atmosphere A pity the waitress was a bit sour faced and made no effort to interact. We were maybe not spending enough (just the set menu)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gary_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your review. We are always training our staff to do their best so I apologise that this didn't happen on your visit. I do hope you visit again and we will be all smiles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;