We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great service and fabulous food”
Review of City Merchant

City Merchant
Ranked #214 of 2,600 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Our annual reunion meal was made exceptional by the friendly staff, excellent food, great service and atmosphere. Two of us had the fish from the set lunch menu and the other had lamb and commented on how delicious it was. It is rare to find a restaurant happy to leave friends chatting over leisurely coffees and copious wine with no pressure to clear the table for evening covers. We are already planning our next visit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ladh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Many thanks for your great 5 star review.

I am delighted to read that you all enjoyed your recent reunion lunch at City Merchant and enjoyed the "excellent food, great service and atmosphere"

Look forward to your next visit, hopefully before next years reunion?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 450 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2015

We ate from the early evening menu and it was really excellent. The fish was some of the best we have had and both service (thank you, Steven) and atmosphere were just right. This menu is incredibly good value for money. We also loved the music! We recommend City Merchant - particularly if you go before 7pm - as it is hard to beat at this price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trish_m74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Wow! Best Fish In Glasgow! That is a fantastic endorsement of what we do at City Merchant, thanks very much.

I appreciate your comments, in particular highlighting the great value pre theatre menu and Steven's excellent service!

I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Really lovely set lunch menu with excellent food and lovely service. Would definitely recommend this for business lunch or family afternoon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Many thanks for you review after you recent lunch visit.

It is great to read that you are happy to recommend the City Merchant to others.

Hope you'll dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

My wife, son and I had a meal from the pre-theatre menu and thought it was excellent. The service was really good - friendly and efficient - just the right amount of time between courses. There was a good choice on the menu and we thought it was reasonably priced.
We were pleased with the improved experience compared to our last visit when we felt the food had been poor. So City Merchant is back on form!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Thank you for reviewing your recent pre theatre meal at City Merchant, your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

I am delighted that we are back to our best after the blip you experienced on your previous visit.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Had a lovely meal in here again. We knew it was expensive before visiting because we have been a few times before. It is well worth a visit nonetheless. We paid an extra £2.25 for a little basket of bread which was nice. The waitresses are attentive and the manager came round to check we were happy with everything. The food is excellent and it is located in the merchant city part of Glasgow which is very vibrant. Well worth a visit but it is not cheap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jan16081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to give us a five star review.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent meal with us and you appreciate that the quality of produce used is reflected in the price and well worth it for a treat as you say.

Hopefully you'll treat yourself again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;