We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knockout pre-theatre eatery - you gotta go!”
Review of City Merchant

City Merchant
Ranked #191 of 2,657 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

First timers but not dissappointed! Served by friendly smiley Danni, we had a lovely meal - faultless! Great sea bream dish, wonderful lamb... yummy! We'll definitely be back...

Thank DavidKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Thanks very much for your fantastic comments posted in your review and for describing the food as faultless and yummy! I will pass your compliments on to Danni, it's always great when the staff get a special mention.

Look forward to you dining with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 456 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2015

We hadn't decided on the City Merchant before we set out, but we were so glad we ended up there as what great food and service. Second to none in all aspects of our late afternoon visit. Quiet when we arrived, but soon got busier so glad we got a window table when we did. Great wine (the pinot noir - bin 29 I think!) especially good and the choice of both seafood and steak was superb. The service was very good without being intrusive. Excellent meal and would recommend and certainly be going again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Many thanks for your fantastic 5 star review after your recent meal at City Merchant.

It is great to read that you found both the seafood and steak to be excellent and that you will be recommending us to others.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Have been eating at City Merchant for over 20 years and have got to say that we have never been disappointed. The food is always of a high quality and the staff are efficient, friendly and unobtrusive. We decided to take family for the 5pm lunch deal and were delighted to find that the choice and quality of food was not compromised in any way. Would highly recommend this restaurant and will look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Many thanks for your 1st class review. It is fantastic to read that you have been coming to City Merchant for over 20 years, your continued support and custom is greatly appreciated.

I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Although quiet when we arrived, the restaurant became busy but still remained relaxed and friendly. It specialises in fish but has a good range on the lunch menu. The fish soup was deep and tasty; the ham terrine was a good portion beautifully garnished. The sea bass that I had was perfectly cooked and came with lemon gnocchi. Good sized lunch portions at an excellent price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Having eaten here a few times in the past and really enjoyed it, I was looking forward to lunch the other day. Maybe we shouldn't have gone for the fixed price menu but that shouldn't mean disappointing food and portions. May be back but not for a while. Suspect that staff realised that I wasn't too happy and stayed out the way. Normally would have raised it with the boss but my lunch companion had decided to have a peaceful lunch and didn't want a stooshie so I bit my tongue.

Thank graeme o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing