We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”
Review of City Merchant

City Merchant
Ranked #210 of 2,621 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed 3 June 2015

My friend and I ate here on a weekday evening and were very happy with the meal. The seafood was perfectly cooked and spanking fresh. Service was friendly and efficient. I would definitely visit again.

Thank Choocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Many thanks for your great comments in your recent review and for describing the seafood as excellent, perfectly cooked and spanking fresh!

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 429 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2015

We came here for my boyfriends mum's 60th birthday lunch. The food was lovely and fresh and we had a very pleasant and relaxed time.

Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely lunch for your boyfriend's Mum's birthday, your kind comments are much appreciated.

Hope you'll dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

I have reviewed here before and gave it a five. And its the same again. Wonderful lunch menu, with enough choice to satisfy the meat eater, fish eater and vegetarian. The hake i had was wonderfully cooked and crafted. My friends (who don't really do this type of food) absolutely loved it, making brave choices (well, for them). I was honestly envious of their choices, despite being totally satisfied with my own choice.

Cost was excellent. Three starters, three mains, rosé wine, sparkling water, diet coke and three coffees came to £46. No complaints. Only recommendations. Well done for keeping up great standards.

Thank ElCartoharvetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Many thanks for posting another 5 star review, your ongoing support and custom is much appreciated.

As you say, we try to offer something for everyone and it is great to read that your guests enjoyed something new out of their comfort zone, hopefully they will make a return visit too.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

First timers but not dissappointed! Served by friendly smiley Danni, we had a lovely meal - faultless! Great sea bream dish, wonderful lamb... yummy! We'll definitely be back...

Thank DavidKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Thanks very much for your fantastic comments posted in your review and for describing the food as faultless and yummy! I will pass your compliments on to Danni, it's always great when the staff get a special mention.

Look forward to you dining with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We hadn't decided on the City Merchant before we set out, but we were so glad we ended up there as what great food and service. Second to none in all aspects of our late afternoon visit. Quiet when we arrived, but soon got busier so glad we got a window table when we did. Great wine (the pinot noir - bin 29 I think!) especially good and the choice of both seafood and steak was superb. The service was very good without being intrusive. Excellent meal and would recommend and certainly be going again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Many thanks for your fantastic 5 star review after your recent meal at City Merchant.

It is great to read that you found both the seafood and steak to be excellent and that you will be recommending us to others.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing