We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mackintosh Treat”
Review of Willow Tea Rooms

Willow Tea Rooms
Ranked #415 of 2,752 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Description: Inspired by the works of Glasgow’s greatest artist and architect, Charles Rennie Mackintosh, you can enjoy tasty, traditional foods in a unique setting. At 97 Buchanan Street we have our White Dining Room and the Chinese Blue Room. Breakfast, morning coffee & loose leaf teas, lunch, light snacks, afternoon tea, cakes and scones - choice is yours. All served all day every day, no need to book. Looking for a range of gluten free, vegetarian or vegan options - then our Miss Cranston’s Free From Menu is for you. Our younger visitors have their own menu and their own afternoon tea.
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

If you wish to be in the midst of some of Charles Rennie Mackintosh's designs then this will be a delight for you. Beautiful tea room with a great choice of menu in a nice airy room that's pretty to look at. Nice staff and nice food.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DLee129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P, General Manager at Willow Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of 97 Buchanan Street. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018

Cool place, cool people! The waitress Valerie is the kindest, she gave great suggestions on the food and drink! I just had scone and tea, but for real the scone was amazing.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tefi-es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P, General Manager at Willow Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to 97 Buchanan Street, we are glad you enjoyed our scones which are freshly baked every morning in our in house bakery. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

First two members of staff were not friendly, very matter of fact!
Rest of staff very pleasant.

Afternoon tea is usually dainty, these ‘finger sandwiches ‘ were anything but! Basically one sandwich each, scone, jam and cream, very mean with the cream, one tiny pot for two people, one cake each, smallest piece of shortbread each which I have ever seen.

If in Glasgow, don’t worry if you don’t have time to go here, you miss nothing. Oh, full of American tourists who have no idea what an Afternoon Tea is....

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank graemeg180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P, General Manager at Willow Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Can you please let me know which day and approx time you visited us at 97 Buchanan Street and also if you can tell us a description of the staff. If you could email me at s.proctor@willowtearooms.co.uk I would appreciate your help with this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Beautifully refurbished, fantastic decor, good food. Unfortunately We were served by an extremely bossy and rude young waitress. When we politely refused to be bullied by her, she rattled the crockery! It was like a scene from Fawlty Towers, and at least gave us a good laugh. However, customers of a more sensitive disposition might be upset.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P, General Manager at Willow Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your review however I wonder if you could let us know whether it was 97 Buchanan Street or The Willow Tea Rooms within Watt Brothers on Bath Street/Hope Street that you visited as neither have been refurbished. If you can let me know which date you visited The Willow Tea Rooms and a description of your waitress then I can look into this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

I have to admit the main reason we went here was because of the Macintosh connection. Okay, the only reason. However, once inside, we were seared in the Chinese room upstairs. The decor is charming and half the fun. The wait staff was friendly and attentive enough. Our food was good, the sandwiches interesting and tasty. This was a choose your sweet dessert kind of place, and my hubby chose the strawberry tart and I chose the Millionaire’s shortbread. The strawberry tart was really whipped cream with strawberries on top. The caramel in the shortbread was rich and creamy and soft. All around a pleasant experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank RockingLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P, General Manager at Willow Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your review of 97 Buchanan Street, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the cakes on your recent visit. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Glasgow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willow Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Willow Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing