We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onslow Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
38
25
11
12
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
25
11
12
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreeview tvblack puddingcentre of glasgowthe ground floorwardrobe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed here on two occasions for four and then three weeks. The bad reviews on here are generally about booking issues but those who stay rarely fault the place. The value for money is excellent as the place is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is amazing. The free coffee machine was a great bonus, much better than the usual sachets and uht milk. Tony and John are both very personable and go out of their way to assist guests. They had plenty of repeat customers in the time I was there and fellow guests were very happy. Also they are the most pet friendly b and b I have stayed in. So if you want a good, reasonably priced clean B and B within a few minutes of the centre of Glasgow and an amazing breakfast then you'd be mad not to stay here :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony2glasgow, Manager at Onslow Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi customer booked a en-suite we quoted the price he was happy then the customer phoned 2 hrs before arriving can I get the address we gave him it and when he arrived we showed all the facilities and ask can you fill in the booking form we asked the customer how would you liked to pay for it he said card we told him the price what we quoted him 2 weeks ago he goes sorry but I have not got enough funds to pay for all the accomodation can you give me a cheaper room we told him we have no other rooms available so after 15 mins he gave us some money then he said he would give the rest next day we said that is fine we made him sign a letter which he did then next day we asked for a payment he said I will give you when I check out we said no sorry you agree in the letter You would pay then he got angry and walked out and said I am going to make a complaint on your website we tried helping the customer but he would not listen we told him you booked the room for 5 nights company policy we take payment up front and we won the case about the dispute thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Read some negative reviews about this Guest House, but certainly hasn't been my experience,
an excellent Guest House run by warm and friendly staff.
A professional and courteous greeting is given to all and you are immediately made to feel at home.
The premises are immaculate throughout and maintained to a very high standard.
Every effort is made to ensure that guests enjoy their stay and plenty of Glasgow patter available on request if that's what your looking for. If not the staff are experienced enough to accommodate and present the right " mood " to suit all tastes.
Competitively priced and definitely value for money.
I see some negative reviews about the Guest House and can only speak from my own experience. I was recently visited by Business associates who were complimentary about the standard of rooms/premises and I would recommend and return without hesitation
For me late 2013 has been a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at on slow house on several occasions every time there was problem with the booking ! Double booked cancelled room ! Different prices ! So this last time I had call on the morning I was due to go there to be told that the room I had booked for two nights the previous week was not available and had to go in other room without ensuite for the first night ! I was not happyand made this clear to John ! Or was it tony ! It's a shame as everything is ok at this guest house lovely breakfast ! But when I got into bed that night there was blood on one of the pillows which was disgusting ! I won't be going back to on slow house anytime soon and hope this review makes John and tony step up there game !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I think it is disgusting reading your replies to people who have written reviews. Call your self professionals. I hope these review help people make the decision not too book your apartments/guest house. All reviews are very similar. Can I just state that the person above was not a friend of mine. How would you know that this was a friend of mine? Is it because they too had the same experience, as myself and the majority of the other reviewers. Are these people all my friends too. I would like too shake their hands though for showing your apartments/guest house and manners for what they are. As for having too much alcohol, we checked in left bags and headed back out. So again that is utter nonsense. We came straight back and went too bed. Which was due too the alcohol that we consumed at Robbie. Which I think we where entitled too and how much alcohol I put into my body is none of your concern and the other lie that we knew where we where staying can I just ask you why would we come too the place you told me being Onslow Drive too then drive 5 mins round the corner when we could have just went there in the first place. We has no need to go to Onslow as we paid the man at the guest house we stayed at. And not once did you mention shared facilities. You should be apologising to your customers and not trying too turn your MISTAKES round. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lornamac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Were told our employees could sleep during the day as they were on a nightshift. Paid for the
rooms on this basis, but at 11.00 in the morning they were awaken and told they had to leave, as someone else required the rooms.

NOT HAPPY!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony2glasgow, Owner at Onslow Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Yes the company booked with us we told them check out 10:30 am you can check out 11am if you want to check out later we will need to charge you for the room they did not want to pay for another night how is a cheating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews