We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get much better value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Can't get much better value”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights for a Glasgow city break on a budget, and were very pleased with the hotel. Situated around 15 minutes from the absolute centre of the city on a well maintained retail park, the hotel offered great value for money and was always spotlessly clean. The staff were efficient, and the room was spacious. We ate breakfast every morning, at around £5 all you can eat, it was tasty and set us up for the day. Another added bonus was the restaurants on the retail park, including Chiquito's, Frankie and Bennies and a Chinese Buffet, offered discounts of up to 20% to Etap guests, something we took advantage of and were very impressed with. At £30 a night, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    514
    449
    208
    228
See reviews for
291
583
129
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A budget hotel but the room was spotless. The shower is only separated from the room by a glass door but I do not see that as a problem because I would only be sharing a room with someone I knew really well. The toilet has privacy. Their is a TV desk and chair. At £43 on the night Neil Diamond was playing town what more cou'ld you' want.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madgejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I read the reviews for this hotel before booking and thought , well you always get good and bad reviews and it will probably be ok for 1 night stay. I WAS WRONG.
When you check in the money from your credit card is taken and then after suffering a sleepless night of yobs (other so called guests ) being allowed to rampage through the hotel, banging on doors, screaming, singing, and breaking glass bottles the hotel staff say the manager is not there and you will have to phone back another day, SO THEY DON,T HAVE TO GIVE YOU A REFUND.
We hurriedly left the hotel at 5.00am, trying to avoid the glass in the corridors and the sea of drying sticky beer in the lifts.
DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ENJOY SLEEPLESS NIGHTS AND FEELING THREATENED!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripvanwinkle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed here with 2 friends & found the room to be absolutely as described on the website. It isn't right in the centre of Glasgow but we walked from Buchanan Bus Station so its not too far. It has ample free parking and plenty of eateries on its doorstep. The room was very clean & the staff really helpful. I would definitely stay again. We were looking for a reasonable budget hotel and thats exactly what we got.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KishorTahiliani, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments you have left regarding the hotel and the staff. These comments are much appreciated and I will share these with the staff.

The hotel will undergo a full refurbishment programme on September this year and we hope to welcome you back to the new look Etap Glasgow in the near future.

Kind Regards


Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

On arrival we went up to reception to find 3 members of staff chatting and we had to wait at least 5 minutes to be seen, we then went to our room to find what can only be described as a jail cell. The toilet is in a small cupboard, the shower has absolutely no privacy then to top it all off when i went to bed i found the headboard was only being held up by the matress and pillows. I understand this is supposed to be a budget hotel and i wasn't expecting anything fancy but it was shocking. I paid 85 pounds for my room and was told by the member of staff at reception that they put the prices up because of a concert nearby. I couldnt possibly reccommend this place to anybody

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanmc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KishorTahiliani, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. All feedback positive or negative is much appreciated and all reviews are taken seriously. I was disappointed to hear that your stay at Etap Glasgow did not meet with your expectations.

Etap hotels are Economy hotels providing cheap, clean, affordable accommodation. The concept of Etap comes from Europe and I understand that the room layout and toilet and shower cubical is not what some customers would expect or would be comfortable with, however it is fully in line with the standards set for Etap and is clearly displayed on all booking channels for the hotel. All hotels whether it be economy or budget, work on a price structure. As soon as there is a major event in the area, such as Take That, all hotels increase their rates in line with the demand in the local area. I understand this is frustrating to some customers; however, this is a practice that is operated in all hotels.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and I was disappointed with your comment regarding the staff at check in. Please let me express my sincere apologies as this is not the image we would want to portray of the hotel, rest assured I will be looking into this matter.

Again thank you for your feedback, and I hope to welcome you back to the newly refurbished Etap hotel in the coming months.

Best Regards


Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,121 reviews
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#11 of 95 in Glasgow
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Glasgow

Property: Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Address: 2A Springfield Quay, Glasgow G5 8NP, Scotland (Formerly Etap Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budget Hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms at budget prices. We pride ourselves on the excellent value for money, Situated in the Springfield Quay, one of the Glasgow's largest entertainment centres. All rooms have flat screen TV's with over 130 free view channels. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Free indoor and outdoor car parking.The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and amenities including 12 screen Odeon Cinema, ten -pin bowling venue, Mecca bingo, and Scotland's largest Casino, Alea. The hotel is within walking distance of Glasgow city centre, 5 minute's drive to Scottish Exhibition and Conference centre (SECC) , 5 minutes' drive to the Glasgow Central rail station, 5 minutes in a taxi from the O2 Academy and 15 minutes' drive to the Glasgow International Airport.We are proud to offer:Friendly helpful staff available 24/7165 en-suite bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat screen televisionContinental Buffet Breakfast at £4.95 per person 24/7 "Fraiche" offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks.Very competitive pricesComfortable and modern roomsFree Wi-Fi availableFree car park Discounts for Ibis Budget hotel residents at restaurants located in Springfield quay (Ashoka at the Quay , Panda's, Chiquito and Alea)Guest are required to bring a form of personal identification when paying by cash. Acceptable forms of ID:· Valid photographic driving licence· Valid Passport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Glasgow
Hotel Ibis Budget Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing