We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average but over priced! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average but over priced! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I paid £70 6 weeks in advance for ONE night stay for my friend & I to avoid taxi fares home from a night out in town, the room was night, quiet & we'll equipped but I coming home at 4 in the morning we where met by loud foreigners outside the hotel who drew their eyes off us as we walked in as if they owned the place, the receptionist didn't explain how the lift works when wanting to go above the 6th floor ! (Swipe ur card) overall a good stay but for a Saturday night I think £70 is a steep price for one night stay especially in a budget hotel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniewxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thanks for your review.

I believe the price whcih you paid for your saturday night was one of the cheapest in Glasgow.

I am glad you had a good stay with us.

See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    500
    437
    203
    221
See reviews for
277
569
128
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for night with partner as we wanted a night out in glasgow without paying a taxi to Ayr afterwards, £30 for a clean room and bed, good nights sleep, only issue was a few undesireables hanging around outside but great value for money will defo be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistnat General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val thorens
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed mid-week in late January and paid £ 25: an excellent price for a clean, warm room with TV and own bathroom/WC just 15 mins walk from the centre. Some people might feel uncomfortable walking along the dark riverside path to get to the hotel, especially if the week-ends are as riotous as others have described

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValThorensSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert I, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Robert Ionescu
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Amazingly got this for £27 a night stayed 2, by myself but had 1 double and a bunk, clean and warm flat screen telly with not a bad selection of channels. Staff pleasant on arrival , clean and warm shower and ensuite. Handy over bed light switches as it was budget didn't expect much but very pleasantly surprised. Definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fingal_O_flaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert I, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Robert Ionescu
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Ok, wasn't expecting much, but haven't worked for three months prior to Jan so being careful with my money. Plenty to do all the usual chain restaurants and cinema close by, had to move rooms mid week as they had to do maintenance on the room I was given (don't know what it looked ok to me), no problems until I went back to my car this morning to find a smashed window and all my dirty washing and a suitcase stolen (I live in hotels at the moment) site security informed me it happened Wednesday night and they were brilliant, had to get to work and they offered (and did) to secure the window with card and tape. They got a good CCTV picture of the scum bag that stole my dirty pants. So top tip is don't park in the multi-storey car park but park out front or the local druggies (rehab place nearby) will use your property for there next fix.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrn1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am really sorry to hear of what has happened to your car. Please let me know if there is anything we can assist you with.

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I had a terrible stay on 14th October 2013 however, had already booked and paid for a night again approximately a month later in November 2013.
Well ... what a difference a few months makes!

We had a fabulous stay the second time around - much quieter room with our well behaved border collie, no unruly guests to ruin the night, the room as usual, was very clean and had everything you need. And yes people ... it is basic! But at the very, very, very cheap prices, what do you expect?

The staff were excellent, friendly and very accommodating. And unlike the previous reviewer, well dressed!

We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning this time and again, although very basic, there was a good selection of pastries, ceral, fruit, tea/coffee ... just what we needed.

We are planning on booking again and feel that the extra mile all the staff went to to make our stay more enjoyable and comfortable, was well worth the effort.

Thank you to Jakub and his staff and we'll see you in a few months when we next come to Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchnooksScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your fabulous comments and compliments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Please contact me directly should this be the case.

Kind regards,

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Glasgow

Property: Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Address: 2A Springfield Quay, Glasgow G5 8NP, Scotland (Formerly Etap Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budget Hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms at budget prices. We pride ourselves on the excellent value for money, Situated in the Springfield Quay, one of the Glasgow's largest entertainment centres. All rooms have flat screen TV's with over 130 free view channels. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Free indoor and outdoor car parking.The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and amenities including 12 screen Odeon Cinema, ten -pin bowling venue, Mecca bingo, and Scotland's largest Casino, Alea. The hotel is within walking distance of Glasgow city centre, 5 minute's drive to Scottish Exhibition and Conference centre (SECC) , 5 minutes' drive to the Glasgow Central rail station, 5 minutes in a taxi from the O2 Academy and 15 minutes' drive to the Glasgow International Airport.We are proud to offer:Friendly helpful staff available 24/7165 en-suite bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat screen televisionContinental Buffet Breakfast at £4.95 per person 24/7 "Fraiche" offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks.Very competitive pricesComfortable and modern roomsFree Wi-Fi availableFree car park Discounts for Ibis Budget hotel residents at restaurants located in Springfield quay (Ashoka at the Quay , Panda's, Chiquito and Alea)Guest are required to bring a form of personal identification when paying by cash. Acceptable forms of ID:· Valid photographic driving licence· Valid Passport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Glasgow
Hotel Ibis Budget Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing