We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for SECC and Hydro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Dundee, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal location for SECC and Hydro”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we were visiting the SECC Hydro. It was around a 15 minute walk (which was really straight forward) and parking was free which was one of the reasons I chose it.

The hotel was very clean and the rooms are secure as you need a room key before the lift will take you to the upper floors. My biggest bug bear was that the shower has a see through door which opens right into the bedroom so there is very little privacy.

Our twin room was extremely basic, no drawer space and 5 coat hangers hanging from a pole on the wall (certainly wouldn't call it a wardrobe). No tea/coffee making facilities although you could purchase various food and drinks from reception.

We didn't eat in this hotel although they did a buffet breakfast for £4.95 (I think it was continental only). There are various other restaurants/bars within the retail park, some of which are extremely good quality. Personally I would recommend Frankys & Bennies for dinner and Harvester for Breakfast.

I would probably choose not to stay at this hotel again as it was a little bit too basic for me personally however if you are looking for a cheap, clean hotel just to lay your head for the night this place is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert I, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments.

Kind regards,

Robert Ionescu
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    502
    443
    205
    225
See reviews for
284
573
129
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I booked two rooms with double beds for my family. However the confirmation e-mail revealed that the check in date was mistaken and for one day later than I asked for. I contacted with ibis budget hotel Glasgow reception through phone and e-mail immediately. As a result hotel reception confirmed that the date for reservation was changed as I requested. During that change process nobody informed me about a price change. However when we arrived to the hotel the reception told me that the reservation date was not changed and asked me to pay double price for the rooms (Instead of 50.6 GBP per room they asked me to pay 90 GBP per room). Since it was late evening, I had to little kids and my parents with me and I could not afford that much money I only took one rooms instead of two rooms. In addition to that after our holiday when I checked my bank record I realised that I was charged 15% of the original booking price during the reservation period (15% of 101.20 GBP = 15.18 GBP) by the agent. The hotel should have taken that amount into consideration; they even did not mention it. As a result I was put in a very difficult position during my holiday and they showed no good intention to help me resolve the issue and overcharged me in two respects (one with double price and second with disregarding the money I was already charged by the booker agency in advance).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Just to warn anyone looking to book ibis budget glasgow.
Had a horrible night stay there, went to spend a night with my family cleaning and hyegine standards were awful.
Had to wake up 2 in the morning to find my bed full of bed bugs.
Really will not recommend anyone to stay there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert I, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations.

I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact our hotel.

Kind regards,

Robert Ionescu
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaarLouis, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

You get what you Pay. Cannot expect luxury for 45£. But you get a
Cheap and clean hotel in Glasgow.
Good breakfast for 5£.
It's an 10-15min walk to Glasgow Central station.
Surrounded by a cinema, bowling and a couple of restaurants.

Stayed there twice.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciefer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert I, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Ionescu
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Glasgow

Property: Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Address: 2A Springfield Quay, Glasgow G5 8NP, Scotland (Formerly Etap Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budget Hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms at budget prices. We pride ourselves on the excellent value for money, Situated in the Springfield Quay, one of the Glasgow's largest entertainment centres. All rooms have flat screen TV's with over 130 free view channels. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Free indoor and outdoor car parking.The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and amenities including 12 screen Odeon Cinema, ten -pin bowling venue, Mecca bingo, and Scotland's largest Casino, Alea. The hotel is within walking distance of Glasgow city centre, 5 minute's drive to Scottish Exhibition and Conference centre (SECC) , 5 minutes' drive to the Glasgow Central rail station, 5 minutes in a taxi from the O2 Academy and 15 minutes' drive to the Glasgow International Airport.We are proud to offer:Friendly helpful staff available 24/7165 en-suite bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat screen televisionContinental Buffet Breakfast at £4.95 per person 24/7 "Fraiche" offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks.Very competitive pricesComfortable and modern roomsFree Wi-Fi availableFree car park Discounts for Ibis Budget hotel residents at restaurants located in Springfield quay (Ashoka at the Quay , Panda's, Chiquito and Alea)Guest are required to bring a form of personal identification when paying by cash. Acceptable forms of ID:· Valid photographic driving licence· Valid Passport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Glasgow
Hotel Ibis Budget Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing