We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but disappointed with staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    519
    457
    211
    230
See reviews for
296
590
129
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

1. Large vomit stain on carpet from previous occupant.

2. Strange brown stain on duvet cover beside shower.

3. Otherwise dirty room.

4. Hard bed.

5. Draughty room.

6. Staff struggling at breakfast.

Apart from that lot, the price is good and the location is pretty good. Was supposed to be staying there the following week, but couldn't face it for another 4 nights. The place needs a lick of paint and a good clean.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeySkiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KishorTahiliani, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback
with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to
contact me 0141 4298013 to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Kishor Tahiliani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allenheads
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

OK for a cheap hotel. Clean and bright. Basic room, but all working OK. Breakfast for £3.75 was very good value. Main problem is that it is in Glasgow - but I guess that can't be helped really??

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KishorTahiliani, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay
and look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Kishor Tahiliani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Having read the reviews my husband & I panicked thinking 'what have we done booking there' however, we have no complaints other than the bed being too hard! Our room was immaculate, the shower was great... Yes very basic but what do you expect for such low low prices. Admittedly I would like to stay long but for a night it was absolutely fine. I would guess a lot of the reviews of noise come from weekend stays, we stayed last night (Thursday) and no noise probs! Ideal for a one night stay. The Casino on the complex is brilliant too. I would recommend it as a cheap basic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurarachelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KishorTahiliani, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay
and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kishor Tahiliani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This hotel is situated at a great location for the centre of Glasgow. Also very clean and friendly staff. Parking at night can be a problem but just go into the multi-story which is also free. Plenty of eating places very near by. I have stayed in the ETAPS around the world and they are great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KishorTahiliani, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Etap Hotel Glasgow, I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Kishor Tahiliani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Belwo are two emails. The first I sent to the manager. The second I sent to the customer relations. Neither gave me a reply.

Email1:
I am writing to complain about my recent stay at your Etap hotel in Glasgow. I have been given this email address by a staff member at the reception as he seemed unable to handle my complaint.

My sister in law and I stayed in the hotel in October 2010.

We came back to our room at 12:30am and for a long period of time all we could hear was loud music, banging, people running up and down the landing and nocking on our door and running away.

Unable to sleep we went to reception to complain.

Two security guards followed us to our door, before letting us in our room they nocked on the door next to ours to tell the people inside to be quiet. I was fuious that our identity was not kept a secret. As a result we experienced a lot of abuse over the next few hours incuding shouting and banging on our door. We were too afraid to leave our room to go back to the reception. Why was the situation not monitored? I would have expected the security to return after 20 minutes to make shure the noise hadn’t kicked off again – I own holiday accommodation and would have expected my security to stay on the floor for the next hour.

The next morning after both of us had spent the night terrified and having no sleep we went to reception.

I was told the security should have written a report yet it could not be found the next morning.

The staff at the reception told us that this has never happened in the hotel before, however the weekend before I found out that my sister in law’s husband had stayed there and had a very similar experience.

I told the staff that if this had occurd at my holiday accommodation I would be so embarrased and I’d refund the client in full immediately.


Email 2:
I stayed in the Glasgow etap in Oct. I made a complaint to a member of staff at the reception. He said he didn’t know how to resolve the complaint and then he told me to make a complaint by email. I sent an email to the Glasgow etap 2 weeks ago and have still not had a reply. I have also called and asked to speak to the manager several times about this matter but the manager never seems to be available to take my call.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wee-muileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KishorTahiliani, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I’ll look into this matter for you! If you have 5-mins, please give me a call 0n 0141 429 8013 to discuss.
Kind regards,
Kishor Tahiliani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,124 reviews
South Side
Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Glasgow

Property: Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Address: 2A Springfield Quay, Glasgow G5 8NP, Scotland (Formerly Etap Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budget Hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms at budget prices. We pride ourselves on the excellent value for money, Situated in the Springfield Quay, one of the Glasgow's largest entertainment centres. All rooms have flat screen TV's with over 130 free view channels. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Free indoor and outdoor car parking.The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and amenities including 12 screen Odeon Cinema, ten -pin bowling venue, Mecca bingo, and Scotland's largest Casino, Alea. The hotel is within walking distance of Glasgow city centre, 5 minute's drive to Scottish Exhibition and Conference centre (SECC) , 5 minutes' drive to the Glasgow Central rail station, 5 minutes in a taxi from the O2 Academy and 15 minutes' drive to the Glasgow International Airport.We are proud to offer:Friendly helpful staff available 24/7165 en-suite bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat screen televisionContinental Buffet Breakfast at £4.95 per person 24/7 "Fraiche" offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks.Very competitive pricesComfortable and modern roomsFree Wi-Fi availableFree car park Discounts for Ibis Budget hotel residents at restaurants located in Springfield quay (Ashoka at the Quay , Panda's, Chiquito and Alea)Guest are required to bring a form of personal identification when paying by cash. Acceptable forms of ID:· Valid photographic driving licence· Valid Passport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Glasgow
Hotel Ibis Budget Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing