We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glesga hospitality at its best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claremont House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Tom is the genial host at this very conveniently situated Bed & Breakfast in an old fashionable town house not far from the centre of Glasgow.

Simple but adequate accommodation is supplemented by a first rate breakfast including home baked French loaves, ham, cheese and a range of jams, marmalades, yoghurts and fresh fruits.

I was pleasantly surprised at the rates charged here ... so much so, that I had to include a little extra for Tom and his willing helper.

If there's anything you need to know about Glasgow - past or present - then be sure you'll get a most appropriate answer.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill St Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Claremont House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

A great stay in Glasgow - our room on the first floor was huge (as were the bed and the bathroom) and clean with lots of large windows that gave out onto the street. Tom was an excellent host, providing us with tea and great Glasgow info on our arrival. The breakfast (which we only took advantage of once) was great - cereals, toast, yogurt, fruit and of course tea and a very fine coffee. The property is on a quiet cul-de-sac not far from Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis. The prices were very reasonable. Thanks to Tom and Claudio for a very warm welcome indeed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BKSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was a grand little find! Tom was extremely laid back yet helpful when we needed it. His house keeper Claude was also a gem. The room we stayed in was at the front of the house. It was a huge room with beautiful natural light and a neat and tidy bathroom. The spread of breakfast was pretty amazing every morning including muesli, fruit, toast, ham, cheese and scrambled eggs.
Overall it was just a comfortable place to stay. We would stay again!
Tegan and Ben

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeganBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 6 nights at Claremont House in August. It was conveniently located for us, being within a few km of the Chris Hoy velodrome we were traveling to each day. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with some delightful features such as the decorative painted coving, complete with thistles! Our host, Tom, was amazing. From the minute he answered the door on our arrival, to the moment we left, he was always going the extra mile to make sure we were catered for. The house felt more like a home than any other B&B I have stayed at. Tom gave us food and drink on our arrival, provided a bottle of wine one evening, made pots of tea while we waited to leave on our final day, allowed us to entertain a few fellow travelers one afternoon , and gave great advice about getting around and places to eat. On top of all this he was great company..... Very friendly and interesting to talk with. He really is worth five stars alone! The house is located within an easy walking distance to the city centre ... Roughly 15 minutes and easy to find your way. Good cafes and restaurants just down the road. I agree with much of what other reviewers have said about this place ... Absolutely loved our stay and would definitely like to return ... To Glasgow and Claremont House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Kiwi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed five nights in Glasgow Claremont House. We had two rooms, very nice and clean. Guesthouse is very good located not far from George Squere - five minutes by taxi - four pounds.
The breakfest was excelent, and the owner Tom is very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a very beautiful b&b near the necropolis. Tom made us feel very welcome - as if we visited a friend. our room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast took place at a big table, which made it very easy to get in contact to other guests. We stayed there two nights during our twelve days trip across Scotland and this b&b is definitely among the best accommodation we had. We strongly recommend it! --- and if you go there, the best restaurant around is probably the Nakodar Restaurant (Indian food) just minutes away.

Room Tip: take the rooms on first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I traveled to Glasgow to watch our daughter compete at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome. Our stay with Tom could not have been more delightful. This b&b is located on a lovely circus (like a crescent) at the top of a rise. The architecture of the neighbourhood is beautiful and you feel like you are staying on the same street as Mary Poppins. The fact that this is a b&b is not obvious from the street, so be sure to know the house number - it does say Claremont House on the house number name plate. We arrived later in the evening and when we asked if there was somewhere we could go for a bite, Tom just whipped us us some tea and a sandwich which we enjoyed in the large, comfy sitting room. This is a place with lots to notice: good books are here and there, movies of all sorts, great art work, but you really feel like you can relax and belong. Our room was wonderful. The bedding excellent, good sized bathroom, good shower, and very clean. Breakfast was fun, served at the dining table in abundance. Great coffee, juice, nicely prepared individual fresh fruit bowls, eggs, sausages, excellent quality back bacon, toast, pastries, muffins and all sorts of cereals. The fun part was of course the great people that Tom seems to attract. He makes everyone feel so welcome that conversation flows easily. Regarding the neighbourhood: we walked each day, twice a day back and forth to the velodrome taking different routes and regardless of the time of day felt very safe. There are a couple of particularly great restaurants nearby, as well as a great organic coffee shop. Nakodar Restaurant is a short walk down the hill and probably the best Indian food we have ever eaten. Just down from there on Duke street is Coia Restaurant, which is an Italian gem with a variety including superb fish and chips. Finally, have a coffee and a treat at the Tapa organic bakery. A great place to read for a bit. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Glasgow and the August weather was very moderate. We also rented a bike and really appreciated the beautiful park trails. Glasgow is very bike friendly - although the locals did not think so. All I can say is, the bike lanes were a treat and the vehicles accommodating. I rode all over the place and was able to see many sights - fountains, landmarks etc. easily and safely. We look forward to our next visit to Glasgow and will definitely stay with Tom at Claremont House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetravelovehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Glasgow Guest House
#1 of 35 in Glasgow
582 reviews
City Centre
Hampton Court Guesthouse
Hampton Court Guesthouse
#13 of 35 in Glasgow
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
328 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
708 reviews
The Parkville Hotel
#6 of 35 in Glasgow
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Broompark Circus, Glasgow G31 2JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £21 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Claremont House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Claremont House Bed & Breakfast Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing