We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bishopbriggs”
Review of La Vita

La Vita
Ranked #124 of 2,432 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bishopbriggs”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Very busy restaurant, good deals. Downside - very little space and felt like a sardine. Food was okay, had worse but I've had better. Worth a try though.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Trouper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    315
    131
    64
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quality food!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Been here many times never disappointed, food great and not to expensive!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 232356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nearly there”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Nice food, reasonable service and value. I felt a bit squashed in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you're happy with average food and rude staff”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My partner ("Himself") and I had a day to wander about Glasgow and spending the good part of the morning on our feet in the cold, cold, freezing (actually) wind, we called into (what we thought was) this quaint little Italian place for lunch. We were wrong.

When we arrived we felt like we were an inconvenience and both the manager and the staff seemed to be having disagreements over something. Eventually we were taken upstairs to a seat almost hidden behind everything (despite many others being free) and from there it was just downhill.

From the moment the (Eastern European?) waitress who didn't seem to want to be there took our order, we felt like we weren't ordering enough or should be ordering more - sides, drinks etc - more more more. Despite that, we actually both ordered from the cheap lunch deal menu - me a roasted vegetable pizza and Himself a risotto, both with a drink.

What I received was a huge, fluffy-based dough with heaps of tomato and cheese and token pieces of vegetable whilst he got an admittedly tasty risotto, but largely as it seemed to contain an ocean's worth of salt.

When we ended up leaving (after once again convincing the grumpy waitress that we were happy with what we had and didn't want to buy any more), again we felt like we were in the way and an inconvenience as the cash register is squeezed into a thoroughfare area and the manager (who took our payment) didn't seem to value our custom.

Apart from the fact that I noticed once we sat down that La Vita is a chain, there is no way I would go back - not unless the food improved dramatically and the staff started valuing their customers!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit claustrophobic upstairs”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I like this restaurant the staff are always eager to please, the beer and wine are good and chilled as they should be, The food is not bad either. I prefer to be seated down stairs, as it is a bit tight and claustrophbic on the upper levels. Ive had many a good night in this restaurant on different occasions. it has a nice atmoshere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vita also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to La Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing