We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 5 days walking of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Highland Way

West Highland Way
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.56*
and up
West Highland Way Walk with Return Cruise on Loch Lomond from Tabet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Well-marked walking path stretching from Glasgow to Fort William.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best 5 days walking of my life”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Helped by the good weather of course. Did this in late May 2013 over five days. If I was doing it again I'd take 6/7 days as we were out a long time each day with not much recouperation time.
Day 1 - Milngavie to Balmaha. Stayed in Balmaha Bunkhouse and ate in nearby Oaktree Inn. Both excellent. Bunkhouse provided free breakfast to help yourself to. Only gripe is I'd have liked some porridge and/or muesli provided. Local shop sells filled rolls.
Day 2 - Balmaha to Drovers Inn. A long, hard up n doon section but very scenic. Got in quite late but Drovers serve food until 10pm. It's a place you have to stay in for the 300 century old atmosphere. I had one of the rooms that had been spruced up. Hopefully they'll do the same to the other rooms and the bathroom as it doesn't detract from the atmosphere. Great nosh but lumpy porridge. £7 for packed lunch from Drovers
Day 3 - Drovers to Inveroran. God this was a tough day with the last 2 miles from Bridge of Orchy particularly hard. Had called ahead to Inveroran Hotel to say we'd be late and they held back six portions of steak pie for us. Very hospitable Inn with fab rooms. Some midge nets over window would be good so they can be opened in summer. Fantastic breakfast and best coffee en route. £7 for packed lunch from Inveroran
Day 4 - Inveroran to Kinlochleven. A day of superlative scenery. Coming over Rannoch Moor into Glencoe is unsurpassed in terms of the wow factor. Devils staircase wasn't that bad but the 4x4 road on descent on other side was a killer. Wear your good boots! Macdonald Hotel was very accommodating and served food until late. Stayed in cabins in garden. Very cosy. £5 for packed lunch from Macdonald
Day 5 - Kinlochleven to FW. Our shortest walk but lovely trail. Hardest bit was last 2 miles on the pavement. Be sure to follow the signs right into the town centre where there is a statue of a weary traveller rubbing his feet and a 'end of the way' line to step over. The 'original' end of the way is unceremoniously located on the outskirts of town in the carpark of a woollen mill. Try to book accommodation as close to end as possible. The Travel Lodge is right at the end and The Crannog restaurant also where we had our celebratory dinner (highly recommended fish restaurant). We had booked the Premier Inn which was great value and very comfortable but a mile back the way we came - grrrr! Still great breakfast, comfy beds and lashings of hot water for that well earned bath.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank suduperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    51
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“the people made it”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Walked the WHW in may with my eight year old son. We did it over 8 days, we carried all our own gear and stayed at inns along the way. This is probably my twentieth plus visit to the highlands hiking and the scenery on this walk was OK - there much nicer parts of Scotland. The walk itself however is well marked and there's a good selection of accomdation en route. The best stretch is from Tyndrum to The devils staircase - you should not rush this section - leave time to enjoy the scenery. Most of the walk is on stony surface. In my opinion this walk should be done in good quality walking trainers. Some lovely people doing the walk from all over the world. We made some great friends. Would certainly reccomend doing it once.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stoykseasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery and lots of rain!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoy long distance walks and have completed several in England, New Zealand and Australia over the previous six years. This is by far the most strenuous particularly around Loch Lomond. We booked through Macs Adventures who booked our accommodation and arranged for the transfer of our luggage. The accommodation was great, particularly the remote hotels like Bridge of Orchy and Kingshouse, with great BandBs such as All Na Leven in Kinlochleven and Glengarry House outside Tyndrum. We had well worn in boots and wet weather gear we had used many times before. However my boots had 'lost' their waterproofing, and our gloves had to be replaced. My waterproof pants turned out to not be so waterproof, so found a great replacement at the Green Welly shop in Tyndrum. Now what trail do we tackle next? Perhaps a local walk such as the Overland Track in Tasmania.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lede
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“West Highland Way”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A very nice way to explore Scotland. You encounter very different Scottish sceneries. People loving the outdoors and still like to have some civilisation close by: go for it.
We walked 6 days, practised a little before we went, and had no problems completing it. We did it in May and had no problems with midges. People along the road are friendly, lots of places to eat en sleep.
But you never walk alone in high season, starting in May and ending in September. Its not like walking in a herd or something, but you do see other walkers passing by, or cyclists.

Anyway, I loved it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, Caithness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“West Highland Way”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife and i did the West Highland Way from Milngavie to Fort William in April of this year, what a fantastic experience for both of us. i am by no means fit but even i managed it over the 7 day period which we choose, this i felt was a good time frame to do the way as you have enough time to take in the wonderful scenery and stop for a refreshment.
We used a company called MAC's adventures for all our booking of hotels and baggage transfers, the hotels where of a excellent standard and all our bags we picked up and delivered to our next hotels without a hitch.
The best piece of advise i would give is use liberal amounts of vaseline on your feet every morning and have good quality socks and boots as this will ensure you enjoy the walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank plutonio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Highland Way also viewed

Scottish Highlands, Scotland
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 
Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 

Been to West Highland Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing