We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
You won’t see better scenery- doesn’t disappoint

My advice is to take a picnic with you if you haven’t bought the food option onboard. Only because... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2018
ejhutcheson
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
via mobile
Streaming to Settle to Carlisle

A very pleasant day was had. Travelled from Wakefield to Carlisle on the chartered Dalesman. We... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
Peg S
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Scottish Highlands
from US$59.37
More Info
from US$283.36
More Info
from US$62.07
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
49
16
7
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
16
7
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam engine glenfinnan viaduct premier dining return journey jacobite train harry potter fort william to mallaig standard fare arrived home four hours breakfast served smoked salmon and scrambled eggs birthday gift trip cost day trip great trip spectacular scenery
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015

I booked a July rail trip to North Wales with West Coast in March. At the end of May I got a phone call to inform me the trip was cancelled and I would get a refund. Well that's over four weeks ago now and no sign of any money. Beware this company hang onto your money. I certainly would not consider booking a future trip with them.

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank Wounded_Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

What a brilliant experience. The Jacobite in full steam was amazing. Steaming through beautiful countryside was great and the run over the Glenn Finnan viaduct was the best. Thoroughly recommend a trip on this train.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank gillya05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We joined this tour from Whitehaven to Scarborough at Carlisle and had booked Premier Dining @ £209 a head, as a special treat.

Superb food: breakfast - morning coffee on journey out and on the return a 4 course dinner + coffee - huge portions available, all served at seat by very friendly attentive staff.

Topped off by a very reasonably priced wine list (a very good NV champagne @ just £36, was a bargain)

MK2 air-conditioned first class stock very cosy indeed. Only criticism for West Coast Railways is the filthy, badly stained table lamp shades, which so spoils the delightful ambience of the coaches for the sake of just a few quid per table - so do please replace them guys.

Date of experience: June 2015
3  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

A fantastic train ride from Rannoch Moor to Mallaig via Fort William.

Stunning views throughout the journey.

On board staff very welcoming.

Would recommend taking Steam Train from Fort William to Mallaig.

Steam Train very popular so would need to book in advance.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank TimP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We spent a fantastic day travelling 'First Class with Premiere Dining' from Carlisle to Fort William and back, in style and comfort. We passed through some the wildest and spectacular countryside in Britain, the wildlife were completely unphased by the train! The service was excellent and the food delicious. Thank you West Coast Railways, a truly memorable day.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews