We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“well worth the experience of a little luxoury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Coast Railways

Attraction details
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well worth the experience of a little luxoury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2015

Travelled to Dundee from Darlington on a diesel hauled Pullman. Lovely roomy, comfortable seats, crisp white tablecloths, complimentary tea/coffee & pastries on the outward & return journey. We don`t normally but well worth paying a little extra for `first class` seats. Staff were very professional, friendly & helpful. They provided a portable ramp for anyone with a disability or had difficulty stepping onto the train & the stewards were there to assist passengers in any way. First time with West Coast Railways & will certainly travel with them again if the pick-up points are in our area.
Will be recommending them to our family & friends.

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank maggie672015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Dalesman along the Settle to Carlisle Railway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2015

We joined the train at York and the entire journey was a delight. The staff and the food were excellent and it was well worth paying for the Premier Dining as a birthday treat. Nothing was too much trouble.

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a terrible company”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2015

I booked a July rail trip to North Wales with West Coast in March. At the end of May I got a phone call to inform me the trip was cancelled and I would get a refund. Well that's over four weeks ago now and no sign of any money. Beware this company hang onto your money. I certainly would not consider booking a future trip with them.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank Wounded_Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2015

What a brilliant experience. The Jacobite in full steam was amazing. Steaming through beautiful countryside was great and the run over the Glenn Finnan viaduct was the best. Thoroughly recommend a trip on this train.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank gillya05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Premier dining a joy and well worth the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2015

We joined this tour from Whitehaven to Scarborough at Carlisle and had booked Premier Dining @ £209 a head, as a special treat.

Superb food: breakfast - morning coffee on journey out and on the return a 4 course dinner + coffee - huge portions available, all served at seat by very friendly attentive staff.

Topped off by a very reasonably priced wine list (a very good NV champagne @ just £36, was a bargain)

MK2 air-conditioned first class stock very cosy indeed. Only criticism for West Coast Railways is the filthy, badly stained table lamp shades, which so spoils the delightful ambience of the coaches for the sake of just a few quid per table - so do please replace them guys.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank PJandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Railways also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to West Coast Railways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing