We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold winter stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cold winter stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed a couple of nights here while attending a winter climbing course nearby, great location, just a short drive to the hills. The kitchen was big and had everything I needed, big dining and communal areas too. The shower was amazing, powerful and hot! Drying room was very good, all my gear dried well overnight. Unfortunately their heating boiler had broken when I was there, first night was very cold, second night I was given a heater for my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
9
7
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This isn't a place to spend lots of time, but most people are in aviemore for the outdoors anyway! It is fairly clean, has a huge kitchen and lounge area. The staff wasn't as helpful as I had hoped, I mean they will give you directions and the basics but aren't the type to go out of there way.

Due to its huge size, it's great for large groups and is kitted out for skiers and hikers. Internet is a total rip off though...and no wifi.

If you can't find/afford something cosier it's not a bad second choice. It's safe, clean and meets all the needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etoilestrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Our family were in Aviemore for a camping trip but arrived and it was raining so decide to stay in this hostel because it was the closest to where we were. When we arrived reception staff seemed friendly but didn't give us necessary information that we needed during our stay. Our room was reasonably sized for what we payed. There were three bunk beds and a sink, the beds were extremely squeaky and it was very difficult to get to sleep when it came to that time. Room wasn't very clean, there were bogies flicked up onto the ceiling and the windowsill was quite dusty. We later went to the lounge which was really pleasant and cozy. Pool table was great for the boys in our family, I did notice that the T.V was broken and when other guest couldn't get it to work they asked the staff to try a fix it and they didn't turn up to try and fix it. Which I thought was very inconsiderate. Staff let us borrow a pack of cards supplied at the reception. When we reached our room for the night we have a young child of seven who couldn't get to sleep because people kept thumping down the corridor which wasn't there fault but the door was very heavy and slammed very loudly along with the squeaky beds.
The next morning we went to go for a shower but were refused to get in because it was after ten. (This was obviously the piece of information that was missed out when we arrived). We were told by cleaning staff that the showers were getting cleaned until twelve, this was at ten o'clock in the morning.Showers were not being cleaned even when we left so we could have had a shower. I respect they are trying to get things done but if they weren't cleaning the showers we could have had a quick one. It was all right for one night if there was nowhere else but I will definitely not be staying at this hostel again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room far away from the heavy door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

It's in a gorgeous location and the town is a great place to stop, but it's really not an incredible place on its own merits. It's quite basic as hostels go, and Internet is fairly pricey. I found the interior fairly drab as well, though if you're planning to spend time outdoors that may not matter a great deal -- the surrounding woods are beautiful, and it is a brief walk to the Cairngorms park. Just don't expect a particularly attractive building.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for one night during a cycling tour of Scotland.
It looks lovely from the outside but is a bit grim on the inside. You have to take your shoes off at the main entrance - I hadn't encountered this before and was paranoid for a bit that our shoes would get nicked. I didn't feel that comfortable walking around in socks.
Staff were very pleasent, what you would expect in customer service but nothing special. The place seemed efficiently run. Rooms were small, dark and cramped. We had a 6 bed dorm with the 2 of us and 1 other woman, thankfully there were no more people so it wasn't too bad. There was a sink in our room which was useful. Bathrooms were awful, the lock in the toilet room did not work and the showers were "push showers" like you get in swimming pools, giving about 30 seconds of water before turning off.
Despite these negatives, the hostel seemed friendly, was warm and quiet and the beds were comfortable enough for what we paid. Pick somewhere nicer if you want to stay for more than a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muppet333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Firstly the staff were less than helpful over our 4 night stay. When our food was stolen the woman on the desk said she "only came on at seven!" so there was nothing she could do, at night we found staff snooping outside our room, they generally treated 3 teenagers with hostility and suspicion and were hardly chatty. On our second night at around 9pm whilst chatting in our room someone knocked on the door, when we said "hello?" there was no answer and they seemed to disappear. Strange things happened all weekend such as a constant drilling sound on the first night and we felt very unwelcome.
The facilities were also very poor; the wall in our room was crumbling and stuffed with tissue paper, the external door on the showers in our corridor did not lock, the bathroom lock was also not very good as I discovered when someone joined me in there whilst I was getting changed! The kitchen was standard but generally okay. Whilst our room was not anything special at least it was clean, which can be said about the rest of the facilities as well. However, the bunk beds squeaked enormously which made getting to sleep difficult, added to this we all had very sore necks and backs in the morning due to the paper thin pillows. Another paper thin aspect were the walls; on the first night all we could hear was a baby next door crying, people walking down the corridor slamming doors and showering in the middle of the night. A very rude guest next door to us also banged on our wall at about 12pm because we were talking, which we really should be able to do in our own room!!! This led to staff hovering outside our room at night to check we weren't being too noisy - more like a school trip than a holiday!
Our experience here was bad, I feel that as seventeen year-olds people expected us to be badly behaved and rude when we are nothing of the sort however they treated us as if we were already condemned. Aviemore is a brilliant place but I expect a local B&B would offer better facilities. Even though the price reflects the basic nature of the accommodation we will not be returning here, one of the worst places we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here a coupld of days ago, as skiing/snowboarding @ Cairngorm Mountain, less than a 5mins walk from station, plenty of parking, acces to internet for small fee, if you forget breakie you can also pay extra for some. has drying room, heated shoe racks, and very clean overall.
i will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krazy_Kayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Youth Hostel

Property: Aviemore Youth Hostel
Address: 25 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviemore Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by woodland, our youth hostel is situated on the boundary of the Cairngorms National Park, a short walk from Aviemore town centre and its bustling nightlife. The youth hostel itself is extremely peaceful, with great facilities. We are also ideally located for many outdoor activities year-round, such as snowsports, watersports and mountain biking. Most activities take place in the nearby Rothiemurchus Estate or on the Cairngorm mountain range. The area itself is host to a diverse range of wildlife, everything from red squirrels, deer, capercaillie, eagles and arctic hares. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aviemore Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing