We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap deals available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good points - location, warm, clean, spacious communal areas, hot showers, cheap offers in March - 30% discount.

Other points - get rid of the "shoes off" sign at the entrance.
Higher wattage lighting in the bedrooms.
Tighten the bolts on the squeaky beds,
Put heating on in the shower rooms.
Sort out the ventilation/extraction in the toilets/showers
Try not to make check-in such a negative experience - kitchen shuts at...be quiet at .... checkout at....put your laundry there.....no you can't have a second room key for a room of 5 people etc etc

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranfordbraemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights midweek recently. Facilities good although kitchen could perhaps do with a bit of TLC but useable. It was a bit noisy compared to other hostels though, perhaps the location attracts more travellers than hikers/cyclists compared to other hostels.

I would choose the hostel on the ski road next time. But really nothing bad to report. Handy for everywhere and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here whilst going skiing in aviemore. Clean room, cheap prices and good location. Although we didn't use the kitchen it looked very well equipped. The shower was lovely and warm too. Tv room cosy with a nice fire

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed a couple of nights here while attending a winter climbing course nearby, great location, just a short drive to the hills. The kitchen was big and had everything I needed, big dining and communal areas too. The shower was amazing, powerful and hot! Drying room was very good, all my gear dried well overnight. Unfortunately their heating boiler had broken when I was there, first night was very cold, second night I was given a heater for my room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This isn't a place to spend lots of time, but most people are in aviemore for the outdoors anyway! It is fairly clean, has a huge kitchen and lounge area. The staff wasn't as helpful as I had hoped, I mean they will give you directions and the basics but aren't the type to go out of there way.

Due to its huge size, it's great for large groups and is kitted out for skiers and hikers. Internet is a total rip off though...and no wifi.

If you can't find/afford something cosier it's not a bad second choice. It's safe, clean and meets all the needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etoilestrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Our family were in Aviemore for a camping trip but arrived and it was raining so decide to stay in this hostel because it was the closest to where we were. When we arrived reception staff seemed friendly but didn't give us necessary information that we needed during our stay. Our room was reasonably sized for what we payed. There were three bunk beds and a sink, the beds were extremely squeaky and it was very difficult to get to sleep when it came to that time. Room wasn't very clean, there were bogies flicked up onto the ceiling and the windowsill was quite dusty. We later went to the lounge which was really pleasant and cozy. Pool table was great for the boys in our family, I did notice that the T.V was broken and when other guest couldn't get it to work they asked the staff to try a fix it and they didn't turn up to try and fix it. Which I thought was very inconsiderate. Staff let us borrow a pack of cards supplied at the reception. When we reached our room for the night we have a young child of seven who couldn't get to sleep because people kept thumping down the corridor which wasn't there fault but the door was very heavy and slammed very loudly along with the squeaky beds.
The next morning we went to go for a shower but were refused to get in because it was after ten. (This was obviously the piece of information that was missed out when we arrived). We were told by cleaning staff that the showers were getting cleaned until twelve, this was at ten o'clock in the morning.Showers were not being cleaned even when we left so we could have had a shower. I respect they are trying to get things done but if they weren't cleaning the showers we could have had a quick one. It was all right for one night if there was nowhere else but I will definitely not be staying at this hostel again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room far away from the heavy door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kay486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

It's in a gorgeous location and the town is a great place to stop, but it's really not an incredible place on its own merits. It's quite basic as hostels go, and Internet is fairly pricey. I found the interior fairly drab as well, though if you're planning to spend time outdoors that may not matter a great deal -- the surrounding woods are beautiful, and it is a brief walk to the Cairngorms park. Just don't expect a particularly attractive building.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
6 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 29 in Aviemore
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Youth Hostel

Address: 25 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £34 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviemore Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by woodland, our youth hostel is situated on the boundary of the Cairngorms National Park, a short walk from Aviemore town centre and its bustling nightlife. The youth hostel itself is extremely peaceful, with great facilities. We are also ideally located for many outdoor activities year-round, such as snowsports, watersports and mountain biking. Most activities take place in the nearby Rothiemurchus Estate or on the Cairngorm mountain range. The area itself is host to a diverse range of wildlife, everything from red squirrels, deer, capercaillie, eagles and arctic hares. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Aviemore Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing