We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hostel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in a family room, which was clean and roomy. Quiet location.Staff welcoming and friendly.
Has usual Youth Hostel Association facilities ( all accurately described on their website) plus a pool table.

Short walk to town centre/train station. There are also short country walks that start at the edge of the carpark- maps available in reception.We saw rabbits and a red squirrel out the bedroom window.

A great base for a holiday in the area and good value

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleredhen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
9
7
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A good hostel close to Aviemore centre (a 5 min walk to main pub a and shops). Friendly and helpful staff. Great powerful showers after a long day in the mountains.
Cheap & basic, but value for money. What you would expect from a Youth Hostel.
Good communal areas.
Would stay again and recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kelizabeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We spend 2 nights at the hostel with a private double room. Had a very warm welcome with everything explained clearly. Room was basic and mattress and bedding was ok but it's a hostel what do you expect. It was a good size with a sink. Probably not enough storage/hanging for 2 people who are outdoors for the time we were there. Plenty of showers and toilets and large communal areas. Excellent kitchen facilities even when it got busy, everything you need for breakfast, dinner and lunch. Plenty of dry goods storage and good amount of fridge storage. It even had a hot room so we could dry out ski gear out which was a massive bonus! Wifi is basic, you can't really leave the communal areas if you want to surf the net.
Generally a really good place if you need a base for skiing, mountaineering, walking etc. No drastic negatives, would recommend it and will use it again when I'm back in the highlands.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ODWillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Its by no means 5 stars but its great for a hostel. The staff were very friendly on arrival and our room, a private room for 5 had plenty of room and the beds were comfy and warm. The communal areas were very clean and the common room was very cosy with a fire. It was great value and a great base for exploring all of Aviemore and the Cairngorms. A car is not required we got the train/bus and walked everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was attending a mountaineering course at Glenmore Lodge for two days and could not get accommodation there and looked at trying to make my trip as cheap as I could and decided to stay in a hostel
Having never stayed in a hostel before the whole experience was most enjoyable; in fact I was very impressed. Aviemore hostel has a warm and friendly feel to it and the staff are always willing to help you. It is clean and very comfortable and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of visiting Aviemore or the Cairngorms. I will definitely be staying here again. Thanks.

Room Tip: I was allocated room one, I found it very comfortable and was not disturbed by any noise. My tip wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonrichards21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be fantastic, the location is second to none, facilities in my single room were great, the communal kitchen and dining room were great for meeting other travelers, my only gripe was the quality of the showers, 3 minutes and i was as pink as a well cooked lobster.
the bed was comfortable and clean, the tv lounge was excellent and the staff were more than good , take slippers with you as there is a no outdoor footwear rule

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed 23-28 December great location close to shops and mountains.Great staff very helpful .Large self catering kitchen plenty of room also large clean common room.My only concern was overpriced Wi-Fi but did obtain good 3g connection on mobile . Would I stay again yes Definitely.

Room Tip: Stayed in a 4 Bed Dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyb47603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Youth Hostel

Property: Aviemore Youth Hostel
Address: 25 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviemore Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by woodland, our youth hostel is situated on the boundary of the Cairngorms National Park, a short walk from Aviemore town centre and its bustling nightlife. The youth hostel itself is extremely peaceful, with great facilities. We are also ideally located for many outdoor activities year-round, such as snowsports, watersports and mountain biking. Most activities take place in the nearby Rothiemurchus Estate or on the Cairngorm mountain range. The area itself is host to a diverse range of wildlife, everything from red squirrels, deer, capercaillie, eagles and arctic hares. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aviemore Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing