We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pine Bank Chalets
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$202
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$180
US$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$140
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
135
52
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
52
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold bridgecedar lodgelog cabintrain linesuperior cabincosy chaletmin walksalt pepperwithin walking distanceexcellent pubwood burning stovewashing up liquidliving spaceself cateringa stones throwrothiemurchus estateshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet (Cairn Lochan) which overlooked the river. It was a decent sized chalet with all items necessary for cooking and eating in and adequate space for us to sit indoors or on balcony watching the river and cycling groups going past. It was a short walk to the town centre and accessible for cycling trails nearby. Train mouse during day could be heard but wasn't an issue during the evenings and I slept we'll in the comfortable sized rooms. Would recommend to others and visit again if given opportunity. Only difficulty we found after travelling distance was not being let into chalet until 4pm , which after my friends who I met up with there leaving home at 4am was a long day when they needed some rest. Previous holidays at similar sites have allowed access to rooms at midday , hence the lower mark for service. In addition cleaners were at cabin before our leaving time rushing us to pack up.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May in the Einich cabin and absolutely loved it. The cabin was clean, tidy and well equipped with everything you could need for a relaxing break away from it all. The cabin sleeps 4 people in a twin and a double and has a great living/dining/kitchen area that was really comfortable and opened through french windows on to an enclosed veranda which was perfect for our spaniel to relax on. The location is ideal for exploring the area with it being only a 5 minute walk in to Aviemore but so peaceful being tucked away down beside the river and I never really noticed the train line which runs through Aviemore. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already planning to return later on in the year.

Room Tip: If you have a dog The Einich Cabin is superb as it has an enclosed veranda with a dog bed supplied.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinders76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for a short winter walking break with our two terriers. We stayed in the Cairntoul log cabin which was adjoined to another. Lovely setting with views of the bridge to the Rothiemurcus estate and the river out of the front windows. We had steps straight from our balcony down to the Old Bridge Inn less than a minutes walk away. Our cabin was well equipped with everything we needed and was cosy and warm. We had snow the first night we arrived and we were never cold. We saw rabbits, red squirrels and birds (including a resident robin!) every morning during our stay. There is plenty to see and do in Aviemore and the Cairngorms and we would highly recommend Pine Bank Chalets as a base for exploring.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clare b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great few days at Pine Bank Chalets, which we found to be well equipped and very comfortable. Location is excellent - within walking distance of all the amenities of Aviemore, yet not so close that it is noisy or that you feel you are in a town. We had Caingorm cabin, and had none of the issues of train noise which others reported, and had a nice view over the river

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here as an anniversary treat - already knowing that it was quite a compact site with half a dozen chalets (though this didn't bother us). The chalet (Dulnain) is really lovely, very new and fresh feeling and extremely cosy. I couldn't fault it.

Now the not so great bit .. it's *yards* from the main train line and oh my goodness I didn't realise how noisy they are up close and of course there's the vibration element too. I thought 'well maybe it's not so bad as we're out all day and I'm sure there aren't passenger trains at night' (!!). how wrong. 2 out of our 3 nights were broken by a train rumbling past at 4am! It takes a lot to stir me but the vibration and noise was certainly sufficient.

The location is a great pity, but maybe it won't deter others. We won't return even though this isn't a negative comment at all about the lovely chalets as I REALLY liked ours.. but 4am alarm calls are just too much..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuperPanther A, Manager at Pine Bank Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Many thanks for your review, we greatly appreciate your comments.

We are glad that you liked the chalet as we have invested a lot of time and money over the last few years improving our accommodation to meet it's high standards. You are correct that the train line is located to the rear of our site, however as you can see from our other reviews it is very rare for our guests to comment on its locailty. It is the main line from the South of Scotland to the North, however being so far North where we are it is down to one single track and the trains come in slowly and quietly at this point to pass through the town. There is one train per hour heading north and south on this line during the day with only one train on select nights passing through during the night.

We are very sorry that you would not return due to this. We do have a number of chalets dotted around our site in various locations with river and mountain views that are located further from the railway line should you desire, however as stated it is extremely rare for any of our guests (many of whom return regularly) to comment on the locality of the line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews