We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend had by all”
Review of Pine Bank Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Bank Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We hired a few of the lodges for a stag weekend. Couldn't have asked for a better location, most I te lodges were together so allowed us to all sit and have a BBQ. Walking distance to the local shops, pubs etc. right on the river which also added to the location. Well priced and recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Pine Bank Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 5 day trip to Aviemore where we stayed in a one bedroomed cabin at Pine Bank Chalets. We had a brilliant week hill walking, biking and climbing and the chalet was in the perfect location for all of that!

Only a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Aviemore where there were some great wee shops, restaurants and pubs / 15 minutes up the road to the Funicular Railway where there are some astounding views / 10 minutes to the Rothiemurchus Forest where there are great biking/hiking trails.

The chalet was simple self catering accommodation and had everything we needed. The beds were comfy with nice cosey duvets and there was plenty of space in the bedroom for you to put suitcases, clothes, etc. The shower was great (very powerful!) and the bathroom was generally clean (there were a few cobwebs but nothing to get bent out of shape about).

The whole place was very spacious with plenty of room for all of our outdoor equipment and general mess! And there was space to park the car right outside the chalet which meant no lugging heavy bags to and from. There was also a ramp right up to the chalet so great for wheelchair users.

Overall I would give Pine Bank Chalets a 9/10 - lost a point due to the receptionist... please smile more! Other than that, everything was great! Brilliant, cheap and cheerful accommodation to use as a base for outdoor activities. We paid just under £250 for 4 nights (summer prices), a bit steep for some folk but definitley worth it. Looking forward to a return visit! :-)

Room Tip: If you are a couple booking a one bedroom chalet, be aware that the bedroom will be a twin. We had t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilsaMacnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SImonH801, Manager at Pine Bank Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Many thanks for your comments, we are really glad you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

I just wanted to comment on your tip at the bottom as it is a little misleading - all our 2 bed chalets are in fact doubles apart from Dulnain (the one you stayed in) which is set up as a twin as standard to give people choice - however they are ziplock twin beds and can be rearranged as a large double if we are made aware that this is preferable.

I hope this didnt impact your stay with us and do please let us know if you would prefer a it to be arranged as a double next time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Have recently returned from my third stay at Pine Bank Chalets. Stunning location and very peaceful. The perfect place to relax. Have stayed in Bynack and Braeriach. Both Chalets were very clean and well equipped with good sized rooms and beautiful views. 5 minute walk to the centre of Aviemore. A great base from which to explore all that this area has to offer. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy online booking system. Will definitely return again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here 20 years ago and at last was able to return in June 2013.
Pleasant welcome.
Cabin very clean.
Was provided with tea towels, kitchen towel, shower floor towel, washing up liquid, dish cloth and best of all crisp white clean sheets.
Wonderful views over the local river.
BBQ in the small patio area with seating
Friendly, chilled place to stay...I only hope it does not take me another 20 years to return

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just got back from a brilliant and very comfortable stay at the Pine Bank Chalets at Aviemore. We stayed in the Cairngorm Chalet (2 bedrooms) overlooking the River Spey. Well fitted out and very clean with good sized rooms. Very helpful staff with a lot of local knowledge. Pine Bank Chalets are just five minutes walk from the centre of town. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet (Cairn Lochan) which overlooked the river. It was a decent sized chalet with all items necessary for cooking and eating in and adequate space for us to sit indoors or on balcony watching the river and cycling groups going past. It was a short walk to the town centre and accessible for cycling trails nearby. Train mouse during day could be heard but wasn't an issue during the evenings and I slept we'll in the comfortable sized rooms. Would recommend to others and visit again if given opportunity. Only difficulty we found after travelling distance was not being let into chalet until 4pm , which after my friends who I met up with there leaving home at 4am was a long day when they needed some rest. Previous holidays at similar sites have allowed access to rooms at midday , hence the lower mark for service. In addition cleaners were at cabin before our leaving time rushing us to pack up.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May in the Einich cabin and absolutely loved it. The cabin was clean, tidy and well equipped with everything you could need for a relaxing break away from it all. The cabin sleeps 4 people in a twin and a double and has a great living/dining/kitchen area that was really comfortable and opened through french windows on to an enclosed veranda which was perfect for our spaniel to relax on. The location is ideal for exploring the area with it being only a 5 minute walk in to Aviemore but so peaceful being tucked away down beside the river and I never really noticed the train line which runs through Aviemore. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already planning to return later on in the year.

Room Tip: If you have a dog The Einich Cabin is superb as it has an enclosed veranda with a dog bed supplied.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinders76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
7.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.9 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bank Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bank Chalets

Address: Dalfaber Road, Aviemore PH22 1PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £65 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pinebank Chalets Hotel Aviemore
Pine Bank Chalets Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing